Day 27 - Where do I stay? - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2024

Day 27 - Where do I stay?

Stayed last night at the Katy Roundhouse campground in Franklin, MO. They had this sculpture
Heart 1 Comment 1
Steve ClarkSculpture? Maybe…
Or post-tornado pile of debris?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Number 46 - Booneville, MO
Heart 2 Comment 0
Number 47 - Sedalia, MO
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was in the grocery store in Sedalia and got in line behind a mom with 3 young kids. She was purchasing a lot of groceries. She saw that I was purchasing a banana and a milk and told the cashier to add my two items onto her bill. Her kindness stunned me for a second and she told me to pay it forward. I took their picture as they exited the store, such nice people

Heart 12 Comment 1
Anne CoreySuch a great story. Glad you got their picture. Little stories like this are so inspirational!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

These 3 stores were side by side in the strip mall with the grocery store 

I pawned some items from my bike and bought me a gun
Heart 6 Comment 1
Steve ClarkGood thinking.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Got me some smokes
Heart 2 Comment 0
Then I had me a workout
Heart 2 Comment 1
Steve Clark🤣 Did the gun interfere with your workout?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

People ask me where I stay at night. It is a combination of hostels, hotels, and campgrounds. The Transamerica is a popular enough route that there are a bunch of bike only hostels and campgrounds 

My Zpacks tent
Heart 4 Comment 1
Steve ClarkLooks tornado and lightning proof. Hope the tennis ball-sized hail bounces off.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
My sleeping pad, goose down quilt and pillow. Eight puffs to blow up pillow and 34 puffs to blow up pad
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,349 miles (2,171 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0