Day 24 - Diversion - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2024

Day 24 - Diversion

I arrived in Chester, Illinois 2 days ago. The Transamerica route crosses the Mississippi at this point and continues west through south/central Missouri. I have friends that live outside of St. Louis so I diverted from the route. After staying the night with them, I proceeded down the Katy Trail heading west. The Katy Trail at 238 miles is the longest bike path in the US. It follows along the Missouri River just as Lewis and Clark did in 1804. The trail is fantastic. Great surface to ride on and services in towns along the way. I am doing this entry from a campground in Portland, Missouri. Below are 3 photos that give you the essence of what the trail is like

Canopy of trees
Heart 7 Comment 1
Mike HendersonJust beautiful!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Lots of small bridges
Heart 6 Comment 1
Anne CoreyLooks so peaceful!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Wide open with farm fields on both sides
Heart 7 Comment 2
Jim WhritenorNice to be on a quiet path rather than roads?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
David HendersonTo Jim WhritenorYes, the Katy trail just has the sounds of nature and the crunch of my tires
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 1,219 miles (1,962 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Steve ClarkOff pavement?
Harder?
Bumpy?
Solitude?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Keith AdamsTo Steve ClarkAll of the above.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Nancy GrahamI have just returned to continue with your journal and am not quite half way 😉. I am enjoying it a lot and get a kick out of all the Family Dollar stores you find. Wondering — do you ever shop in one of the stores? And do you find things you think are a good find? Curious minds want to know.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David HendersonTo Nancy GrahamI have shopped in a few Dollar General’s. The only thing I have purchased is white or chocolate milk on several occasions with one exception. I purchased a small jar of off brand peanut butter. It was terrible and I ended up not eating it
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Nancy GrahamTo David HendersonThanks for your response David. I was wondering if the goods there were any … good. I doubted it, and now I know.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago