Day 20 - Visiting old friends - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2024

Day 20 - Visiting old friends

I camped at Hayes Canyon Campground which is primarily a horse camp. People pull in with their RVs and horse trailers and the camp has paddocks and stables by each site. People ride the trails in Shawnee National Forest. I was walking in the campground and Ken stopped me. He regaled me with great stories about how the campground back in the 30s was a CCC camp and his father worked there. He showed me pictures of his dad and dozens of other men who worked in this camp. He lived up the road, been in his house for 60 years and married for 61

Heart 4 Comment 0

I had dinner at Shotgun Eddies, the only restaurant in town, met a friend before going in

Heart 5 Comment 0

Peter is a biker who lives in Alaska and is doing the Transamerica. We came across each other several times 

Heart 3 Comment 0
These two donkeys were grooming each other right before I took this photo
Heart 5 Comment 1
Anne CoreyLove!❤️
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Saw a lot of turtles on the road, hope they all made it
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMale box turtle. Males have red eyes, females yellow.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eastern_box_turtle
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Number 34 - Vienna, Illinois
Heart 2 Comment 0
Number 35 - Goreville, Illinois
Heart 2 Comment 0
Old friends in Carterville, Illinois. Great to see Liz and Bob
Heart 4 Comment 0


Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 1,000 miles (1,609 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Gordon BrownDave--looking good. Keep on.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith AdamsReposting a reply from my Katy journal to increase the odds you'll see it in time...

Our plans have changed. We elected to make yesterday, the 21st, our final day of riding. On the other hand we have baseball tickets for Friday's Cubs/Cards game so we won't clear town until Saturday.

Could be that we could link up Friday during the day or Saturday morning depending on where you are.

Camping was viable everywhere we were. Some places are more deluxe than others. Jefferson City has numerous hotels. We made reservations early in the morning of the same day we stayed, no problem. At least three other Katy riders / groups are here as well.

I have several unopened backpacker meals to give you if we can connect and you want them.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David HendersonTo Keith AdamsKeith
I am staying Friday night in Town and Country Missouri with friends. There house is about 7 miles from the trail
Are you staying in downtown St. Louis?
I will coming across the Eads bridge and stopping at the Arch on Friday on the way to friends house
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith AdamsTo David HendersonHi

I'm at my cousin's place in Kirkwood.

Text me your friend's address at three zero one seven seven five zero seven three two and I'm happy to use my free time beforehand to drop off the food.

My traveling buddy needs to be back in Maryland by Saturday night so we won't have time to meet up Saturday morning.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith AdamsYou must have been tired yesterday. Your map link needs to be added using the little globe symbol on the tool bar. I know you knew that...
Reply to this comment
3 months ago