Day 8 - ending at Hyannis, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2019

Day 8 - ending at Hyannis, NE

I woke up at 5:25am (MDT) after a wonderful night's sleep on the back room bed. At 6:05am I walked across the street for breakfast at Red's Cafe. They are set up self-serve for ice water and coffee. On the wall beside my table was a 1940 highway map of Nebraska. The highway I hope to ride on tomorrow (NE-61) wasn't even a road then!

I spent a lot of time in the cafe, before and after eating, working on the report. I wanted to get it sent in while I still had an internet connection, which was thanks to the motel's wifi.

With the report sent, I checked out at 9:55am, and was riding west, into the wind, at 10:09am. At 11:52am I stopped for a break at the site of the former town of Hecla. I stayed there until just after noon, so here's the noon mileage report: 10.0 miles. 

From here I started a section of signed "no-shoulder road", but it had a shoulder, just not as wide. And it was in excellent shape - much better riding than the crack-bumps shoulder section I rode on this morning. At 1:42pm I entered "Grant County - This is no Bull" (their sign said). I arrived in Whitman at 2:45pm and stopped. This town, like so many in Nebraska, has seen better days.

I was seeing more wetlands today, and even passed by a few lakes, on the once-again wide but bumpy shoulder. At 4:59pm I arrived in Hyannis, my destination for today. It'd been a beautiful day for riding, even with the headwind.

I checked in at the Ranchlands Motel, and was in room 5 at 5:20pm. After getting settled, I walked uptown for supper at the Hyannis Hotel. This meal was to get me ready for tomorrow's ride on NE-61, so I filled up with a New York Strip steak. It was good.

After supper I went on a walking tour of Hyannis. It was good that I was walking - the streets here are too steep for my bike! It was fun seeing the actual roads I'd previously explored using Google Earth.

Back in my motel room, I got set for a shower, but found the hot water faucet not working. I messed with it some, but didn't have the right tools to get it fixed. I couldn't talk myself into a cold shower, so just headed to bed at 9:57pm.

Jeff

Spent: $9.15 plus $3 (breakfast) + $61.33 plus $5 (motel) + $23.91 plus $5 (supper) = $107.39.

Day 8 - Mullen, NE to Hyannis, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Sandhills Motel - Mullen, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 3
Scott AndersonBig Red’s Cafe! I remember this place, from over 40 years ago. Big Red was still there then, I think. But where are the aspirin? My pancakes were served with aspirin on top.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
I don't know about the aspirin.
What I want to know, is which establishment you visited when you passed through Hecla?
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jeff TeelWe don’t remember Hecla at all. I do remember the rest of the day though. There was a downpour in Hyannis, and I went up to a farmhouse for shelter and watched TV with them until the storm broke. Afterwards, I saw the first red phalaropes of my life, spinning circles on one of those lakes you biked past: and I think white pelicans. The day ended in the drunk tank of the Alliance jail, where I spent the night as a cheap lodging option. It was fine until a real drunk showed up about 3 AM. In the morning they brought us both cinnamon rolls and coffee and sent me on my way. Very hospitable, those Cornhuskers!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Big Red's Bar & Grill - Mullen, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a perfect Sandhills day +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Hecla no longer exists, but there's a nice pull-off +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ just inside Grant County +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ blue fixtures! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 318 miles (512 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0