Tuesday 4 April: Longest train journey for a while - The Great Big Ice Cream Tour - CycleBlaze

April 5, 2023

Tuesday 4 April: Longest train journey for a while

Trip captured in a T-shirt
Heart 0 Comment 0

My sister-in-law, Alison, captured my plan on one t-shirt and gifted it to me for my 60th birthday. I decided to wear it for my departure and, depending on washing machines, during my days off the bike but definitely upon my arrival in Athens. Fantastic pressie which made me quite emotional however that was in the bar at the Balmoral Hotel so I had to fight back the emotions!!!

My departure was largely uneventful other than the last hug with Laura who helped me on with luggage and a fabulous packed lunch. That could be the last for a few weeks.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The journey was both long and tedious with frequent changes of passengers meaning there was no-one really to talk to. Hopefully this is not a sign of weeks to come (where is that laughing emoji when you need it).

Heart 1 Comment 0

Thankfully the Premiere Inn didn't flinch when it was suggested the best place for my bike was in my room. Hopefully other hostels and hotels have a similar attitude.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had my first ice cream. A praline (beige) which was rather meh! and doesn't merit too much of a merit. I'd score it 5/10. The upside is things can only get better, I hope.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I took a long walk around Plymouth and took some photos. Prior to getting on the ferry I visited Royal William Yard which is an historic naval establishment. Previously the logistics centre for managing provisions etc for the navy and built-in the 1800s. It has be conserved and turned into a little village with new apartments, offices, shops and restaurants. It had a nice vibe and looked really good. It's not finished as I could see some buildings with no windows and trees growing out of the roofs.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0