8 May, Vicenza - The Great Big Ice Cream Tour - CycleBlaze

May 8, 2023

8 May, Vicenza

No cycling today so I thought I'd try a day of culture in the beautiful city of Vicenza.

The previous night I met an American, fellow cyclist, called Doug who came from Portland in Oregon. We chatted briefly when I arrived, then he asked if I could give him some chain lube as he got caught in rain and his chain was squeaking, then we went for beers together although he drinks cider or beer as he is allergic to the hops or the yeast used in beer.

Our hostel lady recommended a nearby bar which brewed its own Craft Beer. Over the course of most 3 hours I had 2x 0.4l IPA beers at about 4.3%. Doug drank somewhere about 1.4l of bottled cider at 7.7%. He also had a cheeseburger but was still pissed as a newt. He is 71 and touring for the first time in years after selling his house in Oregon for many times what he paid for it. He said rather too loudly, "I am rich but I am homeless, so I thought I'd spend some time living off my bike."

I pointed him in the direction of the hostel I then I headed for a walk, a chat with Laura and then some food which would not be a cheeseburger.

For some reason I slept very deeply and awoke both groggy and refreshed. I think I was physically tired a emotionally drained after the last couple of days.

The hostel breakfast was very good and meant I didn't have to search out decent coffee on the street.

I walked around the city centre which is not that big. In daylight I was able to link the places I had walked the previous night and get a better understanding of size and layout. During the walk I stumbled upon an ancient looking building with an information board. It invited me to scan the QR code and get information about all the local museums and historical sites. So I did.

Monday: The day of closing for all the city museums.

And so ended my day of culture!

Therefore it was time for an ice cream.

Here we have Marscapone and caramelised figs. I think this belongs in the Wrong category, simply because it is not fully Fruit nor is it Beige and I am not creating a new category.

I bought it at the same place as yesterday's Fresh Milk which scored very highly on the new scale.

This ice cream was tasty and textured with thick and creamy Marscapone ice cream and bitter sweet caramelised, almost burnt, fruit pieces. A great combo with good balance. Well worth the effort.

Marscapone and caramelised figs, beige, 3/10.

I did capture some interesting photos including some of Roman stones with Roman graffiti. I wonder did the term graffiti originate from Latin and was Roman graffiti the original graffiti?

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0