7 May, Verona to Vicenza - The Great Big Ice Cream Tour - CycleBlaze

May 7, 2023

7 May, Verona to Vicenza

Heart 0 Comment 0

https://www.strava.com/activities/9028656068

After the trauma of yesterday I was anxious to get on the road and confirm that my new phone was setup properly and had created today's route properly and had sent it to the bike computer properly.

It was Sunday and I wasn't sure what would be open in Verona for breakfast. I had stayed in a hotel so making a breakfast wasn't an option and the hotel didn't look like it had much of a kitchen. It was surrounded by restaurants so I doubt it would have gotten much business.

I checked and the route took me right through the city centre so, given how touristy the city was, I was reasonably sure of finding something.

It turned out to be market Sunday and the main area was filled with stalls however not food stalls but bric-a-brac, furniture, clothes etc.

I chose a busy place away from the main square and, being fed up of croissants etc I was looking for something more savoury. I found a mini-calzone. A small pocket filled with mozzarella and tomatoes. It was lovely.

Then is found the rest of Verona and stopped for some photos of the city walls and amphitheatre.

Then it was back to the lovely countryside with vineyards and gently sloping meadows. All very nice.

It was warmer today with temperatures of about 25° so I was aware of sweating and dehydrating.i forced myself to stop at Soave which is a well know Italian wine. I was just going to have some water and a breather. Then I saw the very old wall propped up with concrete blocks and struts (which weren't actually struts). I guess I am still a civil engineer so I took some photos and shared them with ex-colleagues. The rear of the wall shows it is leaning slightly away from the concrete blocks and these struts were holding it up by stopping it from falling onto the buildings behind it. I soon discovered that on th other side of the wall was a small village. So I had a longer stop and a cold Fanta.

Then mor small roads and paths into Vicenza. No horrible traffic today 😁.

It's been hot today. 25° in the early afternoon plus I hit my first hill in almost a week. Properly sweaty today!

So as I turned into one of the main touristy streets in Vicenza I almost road into a Gelateria. I was need of cooling down and as lunch had been a cereal bar and an apple, I had some spare calories.

So here we have

Aztecs (82% cocoa solids) and

Fior Di latte (Fresh milk).

I chose the chocolate because of the 82%. It piqued my curiosity.

I chose the Fresh Milk because I thought it would be fresh and not interfere with the chocolate.

I was right about the Fresh Milk. Light and refreshing and subtly complimented the chocolate.

The chocolate was rich and creamy. Full on dairy and cocoa. It left my tongue with that layer of dairy fat you get from a rich ice cream.

Chocolate, 82%, beige, 4/10

Fresh Milk, beige?, 4/10

I have re-baselined my scoring after the superb raspberry and mango from 2 days ago. They scored 9/10 but this is now 5/10.

But I wasn't satisfied. The fresh milk was chosen to avoid interfering with the chocolate. What would it be like in its own?

So I went back for another 😁🤣👍❤️

Fresh milk, beige, 5/10

It had the same feel and freshness of the raspberry and mango. Not too creamy and light. Actually cleansed the palate. Superb.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 111 km (69 miles)
Total: 2,687 km (1,669 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0