5 May, Milan to Brescia - The Great Big Ice Cream Tour - CycleBlaze

May 5, 2023

5 May, Milan to Brescia

Heart 0 Comment 0

https://www.strava.com/activities/9015972126

This morning's ride may be the best bitnof the tour to date. I left my hostel on the north side of Milan, grabbed a quick breakfast and then headed north for about 2km. This was relatively easy city riding. It was late rush hour and I was heading in the right direction. Then I turned east onto a canal towpath (probably an extension of the canal I ride into Milan on) and it continued for about 30km. Asphalt surfaced and very smooth and wide. It could easily accommodate bikes and pedestrians. The sun was out, there was no traffic and I could maintain a speed which gave me progress. Then I found a little village with a lively square for a couple of espressos.

Eventually the route turned south and I crossed the Po. I took photographs from the bridge and had a long, but fruitless, chat with an elderly Italian who insisted on telling me something which I couldnt really understand despite me saying, several times, I don't understand. I gather that there other areas which are much more beautiful than where we were. Then I continued and crossed another bridge and then another. My photos only showed about a third of the Po. It really is a big river and still has some distance to cover to get to the sea south of Venice. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Po_(river)

Then I was taken off-road and I zig zagged my way between roads, cross country. Ventually I was thrown back onto tarmac on some lovely lanes with almost no traffic. This is the life of a cycle tourer.

I passed a house with an amazing mural on the gable wall. So I stopped and took a couple of photos. It is very impressive. I've tri d to get some background on it but so far it needs more research. http://cosedibergamo.com/2018/06/29/lalbero-degli-zoccoli-a-castel-cerreto-il-murale-di-ale-senso-che-lo-celebra/

There are a few intriguing things:

The boy's injured foot

The dragon

Is that a military helmet (German) on his head?

And so to today's ice cream.

We have a new benchmark by which all future ice creams will be judged!!😀😛

I stopped to buy some fruit as yesterday's diet was very bread and pastry heavy. I needed some fresh food, vitamins and roughage.

An apple, a banana and some Spanish cherries.

Then I looked across the road. An ice cream shop. Here goes.

The choice was enormous with far too many in the wrong category. There seemed to be a lot of flavours being achieved by having a base ice cream (vanilla?) with a flavoured topping.

However the smallish fruit section looked interesting. I was hot and thirsty so I opted for raspberry only to be told that they didn't do one scoop ice creams. So I added mango.

2€ seemed very good value.

I have to say this is the prettiest ice cream so far. The pink and yellow go wonderfully together. A bit like a fruit salad chew!

Then I tasted them. Wow, double wow.

This goes for both flavours.

Intense fruit flavour but not a sorbet and, yet, not a fully fledged, dairy heavy ice cream. Light, refreshing, cold and very, very moreish. Finishing this was easy but it was gone all too soon.

As I entered a man came out with a huge cone with about 5 flavours.

A couple I sat near demolished their ice creams and then went for a second.

Clearly I am not the only fan.

Raspberry, fruit, 9/10

Mango, fruit, 9/10

Gelateria Pasticceria Caffetteria Brina Treviglio

+39 0363 760022

https://maps.app.goo.gl/3naRna7gad6wnHaL9

The afternoon was a bit of a grind with a mix of wee roads and busy roads. I crossed a large bridge from which I could see a large motorway, a modern rail line and some other civil engineering features so I had to stop for a photo.

The last 15km into Brescia were simply horrible. Traffic, badly design cycleways and a hot and bothered cyclist. I was so glad to make the hostel, have a shower and get a washing done. Then it was a beer a pizza and some sleep.

I didn't see a lot of Brescia but what I did see of the old quarter was very nice and would have been an explore. However I am realising I cannot stop and explore everywhere.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 161 km (100 miles)
Total: 2,457 km (1,526 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0