5 & 6 April The ferry: Plain sailing - The Great Big Ice Cream Tour - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2023

5 & 6 April The ferry: Plain sailing

Thurs 6 April 2023

The ferry journey went pretty smoothly other than having a brand new Opinel knife confiscated at the border control LEAVING Plymouth. It was confiscated for several reasons,

Naively I was honest when asked if I had a knife (prat)

It had a locking mechanism

I didn't have a kitchen facility!

The last one relates to my protestations that the dozens of motorhomes waiting to board, would all have kitchen knives longer than my folding knife however because they have a kitchen facility they are deemed safe (more sensible?) than a bald headed 60 year old trying to kill himself on a bicycle.

Sometimes the laws of this country astound me. Who said the law is an ass? He/she was right.

The vessel was pretty big with 10 levels if you include the heli-deck. Certainly enough levels to totally confuse me and get me lost on several occasions. I discovered at 0530 (BST) this morning that there was a swimming pool! I got up that early to try and catch the sunrise given that the forecast was for sun with some cloud. I caught a few decent pictures including a decent moonshot. Port side was sunrise and starboard was a beautiful full moon behind cloud. I then retreated back to the cabin for some more sleep.

Once I surfaced I discovered that the sun had really come out and that we were looking out in to a gloriously smooth and calm Bay of Biscay. Absolutely stunning and great for not being sea sick.

I also discovered that there was more than one restaurant and found a cafe style breakfast. I have to ask myself what the feck was I doing last night to get so lost and not find the important stuff like a pool and cafe. I guess I'll understand it better if next week I find myself in Portugal!

I was reminded that beds on boats are never brilliant. Too narrow, not enough pillows etc. Still I managed to get sufficient sleep. Overall the cabin was compact and bijou and no real complaints……. Other than the shower room was so small it was difficult to get my hand round to wipe my bum. What the hell would a large person do? - narrow bed and no bum wiping.

This morning was my first morning of changing clothes, dressing for cycling and repacking the panniers. It probably sounds a bit petty but I am discovering the absolute need to be precise and think ahead. My panniers were quite full and yet what I was taking off (warmish UK clothes) was bulkier than what I was putting on (cycling jersey and shorts). Plus what I was taking off was dirty (not because of the small shower room!!) so shouldn't really go in with my meagre supply of clean clothes. I don't have a proper solution at this stage but expect to be expert in a few weeks.

It is now 1115 (BST) and I have vacate the cabin at 1145, 30 mins before docking. I am getting a bit twit Hy about my route for today's cycling. I have two options. The most direct may involve some off-road riding but I cannot determine how severe off-road it could be. The other keeps me to roads but wil be less interesting. It's only 30km. Decisions, decisions!!

Finally it's been a long time since I have people watched. This part of the journey has re-stoked my interest in people. I am amazed at the range of people on the ferry. Lots and lots of ordinary folks starting out on a holiday, some going to holiday homes or visiting relations. I chatted with a bunch of motorcyclists who were simply taking the ferry to Santander and then riding home to Cardiff, Manchester etc. Nice bikes and solid blokes. I met another cyclist who looked really die hard. Nice bike with front and rear panniers. He reckons, by the end of the year, he will have toured 7 months of 2023. Chapeau Monsieur.

The guy that really took my attention was a bit older (than me) was scruffily dressed, wore sandals and had very long, straggly grey hair. Beyond shoulder length. Then it dawned on me he was just like me except I can't grow my hair that long. There wasn't much difference but I (society too maybe?) look upon that long hair as a differentiator. Maybe it's time to widen my horizons?

Sunrise over the port now at 0700 CET
Heart 0 Comment 0
The moon over the starboard bow at about 0700CET
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0