26 April Draguignan to Nice - The Great Big Ice Cream Tour - CycleBlaze

April 25, 2023

26 April Draguignan to Nice

Heart 0 Comment 0

Check out my activity on Strava: https://strava.app.link/AfCdwaYHjzb

I spent two nights in Draguinand which meant I had a rest day. My legs felt a little weary and I know that the final leg to Nice was quite lumpy although, at 88km, not too long.

After closing up the accommodation I headed to the local boulangerie for my lunch sandwich. Today turned out to be chicken and avacado.

Then I followed the route out of the town to be met by a bloody great hill.

Normally on a Saturday morning road ride I need to warm up. Any attempt to push the group to pick up speed or climb hills too soon is met with grumps and groans from me (and others). After about 8km or so my legs are, usually, loosened up and my muscles warm. So to be met with a horrible hill within a few hundred metres of getting on the bike was not good. In fact it was awful and, being honest, I got off an pushed. I knew I had 1200m of ascent ahead of me and killing my legs now was not a good idea.

It went on for a while and I would jump on and off depending on the gradient. Eventually it topped out and I started to free wheel down the other side until I was met with the vie to the east over Provence. I actually stopped and turned and cycled back up the hill a little to get the first (last on this page) photo. Then I continued and the vista opened up to create the most amazing panoramic. Google will create a full panoramic picture and I'll add here afterwards. Provence is simply stunning. Lots of agriculture, vines, trees, meadows, hills and sky. It struck me that the countryside was very neat and tidy and yet the verges were uncut and there was meadows full of grass and wild flowers. The hedgerows were thick with trees, shrubs and wild flowers. And yet it was neat and tidy. I couldn't workout how it could be both unkempt and tidy. It made me think of the fashion for designer stubble in the 80s and 90s!!

As I continued east I noticed that the poppies were out and when they were in groups the colour was lovely. I kept passing small clusters waiting for the perfect field full but it never came! I eventually stopped when the poppies and the purple clover were working together to create a blanket of colour. Unfortunately an electric fence and a field of cattle stopped me getting close enough to get a better photo.

All too soon the countryside disappeared and I found myself on a more main road with passing traffic. It was not great but eventually I was routed onto a cycle path which more or less took me into Nice. The last 10km or so being along the promenade mixing it up with walkers,cyclists, in-line skaters and dog walkers. I am not sure which category the mum with pushchair, in-line skate AND dog fall into?

I checked into my hostel, unpacked a bit - well enough to have a shower - then I headed out for an ice cream. It had been too long.

(Stolen from Facebook as I am getting very tired!)

I spent 3 days looking for an ice cream. All I found, yesterday, was a freezer full of tired looking bland ice creams. Looked like they had thawed and refrozen several times!

Then I arrived in Nice. I could make myself sick if I had one from half the shops I've seen.

I was somewhat unsure what Nice would provide. I expected big brand names and all their mediocrity. I certainly expected Nice to be the most expensive!

However I had to choose one....

So here we have a double beige with

Chocolate sorbet

And

Devine which is an extravagant mix of noisette, pistachio, white chocolate and some other stuff I couldn't translate.

I chose chocolate sorbet out of curiosity.

I chose Devine because a family of 3 all had samples and subsequently ordered a cone with Devine and something else.

The sorbet was more akin to a chilled chocolate ganache. Very rich and very, well, chocolatey. It was delicious.

The Devine was devine 😁 (did you see what I did there?).

Combined they were a marriage made in heaven. Just sublime.

Additionally both were served at the perfect temperature and consistency. Both applied, skillfully, with a palate knife rather than a scoop.

Chocolate sorbet, Devine, beige, 9/10.

I am in Nice fora few days so there is no need to spend the evening walking and exploring. It's time for an early night.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 146 km (91 miles)
Total: 2,018 km (1,253 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0