22 April Arles to Aix-en-Provence - The Great Big Ice Cream Tour - CycleBlaze

April 22, 2023

22 April Arles to Aix-en-Provence

Heart 0 Comment 0

https://www.strava.com/activities/8937499901

Francois made some suggestions for a route to Aix-en-Provence (AeP) and he decided to join for for the first couple of hours. The countryside after leaving Arles was stunning. Lots of vines, olive trees and some almond trees. Very little traffic which made the warming morning lovely. We passed an ancient, Roman aquaduct and being a civil engineer we had to stop to have a look. Considering when this was build it is a remarkable structure and, I suspect, it's ruinous state was probably, largely, caused by people stealing stones for their own constructions many centuries after the Romans left. Quite remarkable.

We continued on with Francois warning me that there was some climbing ahead and before we got there he turned and headed back to Arles.

I continued onwards and actually enjoyed the first climb. The scenery continued to be stunning and my legs were feeling strong. Plus I was looking forward to the spinach and chevre quicheni bought on the way out of Arles.😁

Lunch stop was eventually chosen as Salon de Provence, a lively little historic (yet another) town. I planned to sit, enjoy the passing people, eat my quiche and rehydrate. Then I noticed an ice cream shop which seemed to be calling my name. A quick visit saw me hit the street with a BLACK vanilla idea cream topped with a strawberry. Black vanilla because out of curiousity and strawberry because the lady said it was a strawberry festival today! Was I mugged? Not really because both were lovely.

During most of the day I kept passing a man made water course as well as smaller pipes and channels heading to the watercourse. Eventually I crossed it and stopped for a look. It is the Canal de Marseille built late 1800s as a water supply to the city and it is still in use for that purpose.

Today really was a busman's holiday!

I arrived in AeP safely with the route taking me right through the city, historic, centre. It was about 5pm Nd the place was going like a fair! People walking, eating, drinking and sight seeing. I didn't expect this as it was Sunday. The good news was I would be able to find a supermarket and buy food to make dinner.

Then I arrived at my accommodation. It was advertised as an apartment. The reviews were mixed. In reality it was a converted store room with a double bed, WC, shower, sink (for kitchen and WC) and some basic cooking stuff. I managed to not trip over the vermin traps on the stairs to the 3rd floor door. The bed sheets were clean and the shower worked but I decided I wasn't eating there and this was the first time I bought bottled water!! Despite the shitty surroundings I slept well with a belly full of pasta and Italian sausage.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 145 km (90 miles)
Total: 1,698 km (1,054 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0