15 May, Pula to Jurasi - The Great Big Ice Cream Tour - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2023

15 May, Pula to Jurasi

Heart 0 Comment 0

https://www.strava.com/activities/9075912930

Today's ride was a bit of a mixed bag. None of it stood out as being really nice and some of it was just hard work. Have a look at that last climb. For those who cycle in Scotland thing of Talla Dam.

The first 11km took me out of Pula on a "state" road. This is a road used by large vehicles to get from city to city but which is not dialled or restricted. The traffic was not really heavy but it was constant meaning I had to be aware of noise of every vehicle approaching from behind. This was worsened by the fact that much of the 11km was uphill and the road was very straight - probably an old Roman road upgraded (what did the Romans ever do for us? 😄). Drivers lose concentration when they don't have to prepare for corners and bends so I was very conscious the increased risk from passing cars etc. Not enjoyable at all.

Then the roads got smaller and smaller until I was on the country lanes which make the cycling enjoyable. Unfortunately the roadside was tall bushes and trees make any views very limited. I stopped for coffee at Barban after which the scenery started to open up. At one point I was heading downhill when I looked to my right and saw, through the trees, that the valley floor was way, way below me. I tried to get a photo to show it it there was too many trees.

Of course having descended, I had to climb out of the valley again!

Then I was directed off-road. My experience of this cycling to Pula had been good so I soldiered on. I started descending and the surface deteriorated and it got steeper and steeper. It was quite an uncomfortable descent. Suddenly this chimney thing appeared. It was huge and as I got closer I took more photos but I am not sure they captured the oversize of the thing. Eventually I worked out it was a coal fired power station. I cycled right past the front gate.

Then it was back to tarmac and the worst climb yet. Even pushing I was struggling. I was so glad to get to the top and catch my breath.

Once I found my accomodation I showered and settled in only to find out that there was no shop and the adjacent restaurant was closed. Thankfully my host, Otta, offered to take me to the nearest village to get some food. This place is a lovely little oasis overlooking the bay where my ferry to Cres departs.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Croatian Greggs!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mexican chicken pastry, bit like a sausage roll. Spicy and very garlicy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 92 km (57 miles)
Total: 3,043 km (1,890 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0