What I brought with - And All the Bear Could See Was the Other Side of the Mountain - CycleBlaze

What I brought with

Not much….

I packed ultra light this time going so far as to actually weigh everything with me and eliminate all but the very essentials. This list is to the best of my recollection:

1 long sleeved shirt (ended up needing it a couple evenings when walking to dinner)

1 long pair pants (again for use in the evening)

3 pairs socks (2 would have sufficed)

2 pairs shorts (one to sleep in, one to ride in)

2 short sleeved shirts

Rain coat (for obvious reasons)

Cycling shoes

Walking shoes

Laundry soap

Shampoo, deodorant, toothpaste, toothbrush, sunscreen, hand sanitizer

360 camera

Backup battery pack (only used once on the 102 mile day when I used all 3 of my camera batteries, would have been useful for my phone, but I had the wrong type of phone cable with me)

GPS

Spare inner tubes, patch kit, quick link pliers, small 8 and 10mm wrenches, tire levers, tire pump, pressure gauge, spoke key, bike multi tool 

Water bladder

Motorcycle tarp cover for the bike (only used once)

Foam cockpit cover (used way too many times)

Helmet

Clear and tinted glasses to wear while riding (clear are useful when it is dark, dreary, and bucketing down rain, but only if you can find them while it’s pouring down rain)

First aid kit

Bike lock (never used, was just extra dead weight)

I also generally had food with me and most of the time remembered to eat frequently. 

I think that’s it. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0