Day 5 - Pfunds - And All the Bear Could See Was the Other Side of the Mountain - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2024

Day 5 - Pfunds

Boredom

As mentioned yesterday, I did end up staying put today, though not very happily. Remarkably I did see some cyclists out. The most amusing were a pair of ladies who pulled up to the hotel as I returned from a grocery run. They were soaking wet and looked pretty miserable. They asked me to take their photo to commemorate the occasion. Much respect to them. It was a cold and miserable day to be out. On my grocery trip I did pass a sporting goods store, but they are closed until Monday, so no chance to buy another warm shirt. 

The sign on the right has a typo. It should be Garageneinfahrt. Somebody forgot the second A.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Seen on my walk to get groceries
Heart 5 Comment 0
The city band was tuning when I walked home from dinner. They were having some understandable challenges. Respect to them for even playing when it’s this cold.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I spent the day catching up on emails while periodically looking out the window at the rain. I also spent some time contemplating my plans for the next three days, plans which have been thrown into chaos by the unpredictable weather. After all these years of reserving hotels, I’ve never encountered one that was so inflexible as Hotel Johnson I’m Peschiera. I blame it on them being Italian, but more likely it’s just the ugly face of capitalism. It will be the last time I make an advance reservation that can’t be cancelled without refund. 

So what’s the plan?  Go to bed earlier tonight, assuming my napping today didn’t further destroy my sleep schedule. Then get up earlier in the morning and head for the Reschen Pass. The first 25 miles involve a lot of elevation gain supposedly. I say supposedly because my gps has not yet reflected the elevation gain claimed by my mapping software. Which one is correct, I don’t know. All I know is that the climbing so far has not seemed bad. I’ve extensively scoped out the Reschen Pass and it doesn’t look awful. I’m not seeing any grades over 9% and a lot of it hangs closer to 5%. I can manage that. Of course, it’s 4.5 miles of 5-9% grades preceded by elevation gain between Pfunds and the turnoff to the pass. I may have different feelings about elevation gain when I reach Nauders. 

It will still not be that warm in the morning. Whether or not it will have stopped raining is also debatable, but I have had enough of waiting out the weather. I am here to ride my bike. As long as it is not bucketing down rain, I shall ride. I’ll be plenty warm riding uphill for 4.5 miles. Once I’ve descended from the Reschen See, it will get warmer due simply to dropping altitude. By the time I am in Meran, it will be around 70F. 

The reason I want to start a bit earlier is I want to see how far I can get tomorrow. I have not booked accommodations for tomorrow night. From the Reschen See it is steeply downhill and then essentially downhill all the way to Bozen with another steep downhill just outside Merano. In a velomobile that could go fairly quick and easy. Bozen is 78 miles from here. That’s theoretically doable. It will come down to how long it takes me to get to the Reschen See. I have stocked up on groceries including the main essentials of carbs and Gummi bears. Groceries here are closed on Sundays, so I have two days worth of provisions. Naturally I have made sure to purchase the lightest items possible. 

In other news, as the clouds have started to clear a bit this evening, I do believe I am seeing snow that was not there yesterday. The next question is whether or not there is snow up at the Reschen Pass. I will find out in the morning (or lunch time given how slowly I climb.)

Yesterday, no snow visible
Heart 1 Comment 0
Today, definite snow visible
Heart 2 Comment 0
Zoom in for a better view. Yes, as an experienced Minnesotan, I can confirm that is, indeed, snow.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Slightly more concerning is that the Reschen Pass is 1,200ft above where I am now….
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonIt’s a shame you’re getting such freakish weather, but that seems to be happening to all of us more and more all the time. Good luck tomorrow, and be safe!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rich FrasierGood luck tomorrow!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Joseph HewesAs I write this you'll be climbing the pass with a grin/grimace?.hope it's all going well...It'll be interesting to hear how well the Urban climbs over a sustained climb.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago