Sistersville - Mountain Jam - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2024

Sistersville

Back on the Shore of the Ohio River

I awoke to another heavy rain storm. This has certainly been a wet Spring and a damp tour, at times. The forecast was for it to clear up around 8:00 am with chances for more showers after the Noon hour. So, I took it easy, got ready, and departed with the sun shining. Willey Fork Road was gravel and wet. It descended for close to a mile, where it then followed the stream bed, which was the Willey Fork of the Long Drain. About 2 miles into the ride, the gravel turned back into pavement. I had a very smooth and mostly flat ride to Big Run, which was not more than a small cluster of houses. 

The now gravel surfaced Willey Fork Road descended to the valley of the Long Drain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chickens at a homestead along Willey Fork Road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
They even have Longhorn Steers on Willey Fork Road.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At Big Run, the Long Drain met the North Fork of Fishing Creek. The road name changed to North Fork and followed the larger stream. The road character didn’t change. This was a very pleasant ride that was giving me a break from all of the hills I climbed yesterday. The road led into the small community of Pine Grove and came to an end at SR-20. I turned right and stopped at a Dollar General for my first break of the day.

A variety of Yarrow in the wild.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coming into the village of Big Run, West Virginia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hemp Dogbane along Willey Fork Road. Thanks to Bill Shaneyfelt for assistance with identification.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltFor decades, I thought it was a kind of milkweed, but in recent years doing ID searches, I discovered it is hemp dogbane!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apocynum_cannabinum
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Dino AngeliciInteresting. The leaves look like those of Milkweed. Thanks Bill, for setting me straight!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
The North Fork of Fishing Creek.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The morning was very pleasant. It remained sunny but cool. Riding on SR-20 saw increased traffic but it was only required for a couple of miles. I stopped at a gas station and convenience store for a break. Then at Reader, I turned left onto CR-40 and the climbing that had been absent thus far inserted itself into the equation. 

Sign on CR-40. Truckers and gas drilling industry workers are the target audience.
Heart 0 Comment 0

This part of the day resembled yesterday afternoon. There were repeated ascents and descents with occasional drilling trucks thrown in for good measure. Once again, all were courteous and most waved when passing. The main parent company, Antero, has a campaign to specifically encourage driver courtesy. I saw signs to that effect all along this part of my route today. It’s working, from what I can tell.

Signage on WTRR also targeting truckers and other industry workers. Note language in the top left hand part of the sign.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From CR-40, my route slid to the right onto Wetzel-Tyler Ridge Road (WTRR). The ups and downs continued. Some of them were quite steep. The truckers were still friendly and a few gave me a thumbs up. They have to get those heavy rigs up those hills so they had an appreciation for my efforts. 

Road leading into a gas compression area off of WTRR.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Upon cresting a steep incline, the skies suddenly darkened, the wind began to blow, and the thunder rumbled. As soon as I got my jacket on, the heavens let loose. Briefly, there was some hail. Since the area was wide open, I had nowhere to hide, so I kept on going. Reminds me of a Winston Churchill quote, "When you're going through hell, keep on going." This wasn't hell but it was not the most pleasant riding conditions I've ever experienced. Thankfully, this round did not last too long.  

Immediately before a particularly steep hill, my route called for a sharp left. The road, named Mothman, immediately turned to gravel, descended steeply, and began to follow Point Pleasant Creek. You may remember that Point Pleasant, West Virginia was where the Mothman was reported to have appeared before the bridge collapsed into the Ohio River. 

The Mothman's road was all wet this afternoon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

While I was glad to have avoided the steep hill, the rough gravel and the steep drop were no picnic. Then, it began to rain again. So much for keeping my bike clean… or myself for that matter. Fifteen minutes later, the sun was back out but the bike and I were covered with grit. I pushed on because surely Sistersville was only 10 more miles down the road. Coincidentally, the pavement resumed at Ten Mile Run Road. It led me to SR-180, which took me to SR-18. Then, it began to rain again. By this time, it was only a mild irritation. Sistersville was ahead, come hell or high water… both of which seemed to be possible. 

Fleabane on the approach to Sistersville today. Thanks to Bill Shaneyfelt for assistance with identification.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltOne of several species of fleabane. They all look about alike to me.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/50879-Erigeron/browse_photos?place_id=33
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Dino AngeliciTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks Bill. They are sometimes pink in some spots along the road. Pretty little things.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

In spite of the rain, I made good time on all of those roads, Ten Mile, SR-180, and SR-18. A right turn onto Greenwood Road started the last climb of the day. An extensive local cemetery was positioned on the top of the hill above town. The descent was long, winding, and wooded on both sides of the road. Like that, it popped out into town. 

Mural seen upon entering Sistersville.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I crossed SR-2 and found my lodging site quickly. The Wells Inn is an old hotel that once flourished along with the town. A small but extended family bought it and is trying to restore it. They got a hose going for me so I could clean the bike. Then Ann offered to do laundry for me. The place is definitely old, it needs some work, but the people are great. If you can get past a few things, this is a good place to stay.

The Wells Inn, Sistersville, West Virginia.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was told that Charles Wells stopped here with his wife and 22 children. Originally on the way to Kentucky, upon seeing the place, the family decided to set up shop. The name comes from the Wells sisters, who had land grants and helped to get the town going. Oil was a big industry here at one time. The boom and bust cycle is evident in some beautiful old buildings, some of which are in decline today. There is a riverwalk and a museum that I hope to be able to check out before my departure. This was another tough but good ride in the Mountaineer State. I’m in Tyler County now and headed for parts unknown tomorrow.

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 541 miles (871 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0