The End - A Cycleblazer Moselle Quartett - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2024

The End

The drive home should have taken about five hours, add to that an hour for breaks, food and gas. When we left, it looked like it would have even been a nice day for a  bike ride, but it didn't take long for us to catch up with the bad weather. It turned out to be a slow ride in heavy rain. Following our route on Google Maps I saw flooding warnings closer to Munich. The closer we got to home, the heavier the rain fell and the slower the traffic. It seems we brought the floods from the Moselle and Saar to Bavaria. I had never before experienced flooding on an autobahn in Bavaria and didn't believe it until I saw it.

We are passing close to Fürstenfeldbruck, on our bikes an out-and-back day ride from home.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Small rivers, here the Maisach, flood their banks.
Heart 3 Comment 0
One lane is still open.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretAnd what about the cycles? It is daunting, isn’t it…
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

We were happy to be home, safe and sound, some time after six. No flooding in Gauting!

Addenda

One of the highlights of the day loop I rode with Susan was the sighting of a black stork, but I forgot to include it in the entry of the day so I'm adding it here. I couldn't let it go unmentioned.  Susan got a picture.

Susan managed to zoom in - and there were several more black storks in the field...wow!
Heart 0 Comment 0

A last thought on the journal is that the title "A Tripoint Tour in France, Luxembourg and Germany" was fitting for our plans, but not the tour we took. We stayed in France the whole time, didn't even get to Schengen to put in a good word for those of you who would like to apply for a long-stay visa and never put a foot down in Germany. I have renamed the journal, calling it "A Cycleblazer Moselle Quartett".

Thanks, my friends, for following along, I enjoyed sharing our little adventure with you.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Annette SchneiderSuzanne... In the last few weeks, I have read through all your Cycleblaze journals. I just wanted to comment that they are so enjoyable... both in your gentle prose, and in yours and Janos' excellent photography. I am 81 years of age, and think that the two of you are in great shape! I look forward to reading more of your journals.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Annette SchneiderThanks so much, Annette! I am happy that you are enjoying my journals. The journal on my current tour isn't coming along very fast. I hope I don't forget too much before I get around to writing up the days. I'm usually kind of tired in the evening and sleep is more appealing than writing.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago