Wrap up - Morocco - 2024 - CycleBlaze

Wrap up

Hmm -  I started to write a new journal, and realized that I hadn't published my final thoughts.  So here they are, belatedly. 

I really liked this trip! Guided tours aren’t for everyone or for every trip, but I think Intrepid has developed a terrific itinerary that balances history, cycling, and great food. The website description of the trip is honest, so the trip attracts people who are fit enough to ride (but aren't obsessive about it), don’t mind being crammed into an 18 passenger van and an overnight train, and can laugh when a hotel has only lukewarm water. The group was full of interesting and engaging people. Thanks to the uncredited photographers who shared with their pics with me. 

Our fabulous and hard-working crew were certainly a big part of our enjoyment. They worked through the end of Ramadan, no doubt hungry and thirsty, but still smiling. And then missed spending Eid Al Fitr with their families. Intrepid has 120 guides in Morocco. Last year, Hicham was rated #2, just missing out on a trip to Australia. I hope he gets there this year. 

We ate a lot of delicious food. One big advantage of having a guide is that they know where to go and what to avoid. Our big dinner and lunch in Fes were particularly memorable for me. The food was perhaps not as spicy as I expected - we only saw harissa at a couple of meals. The only restaurant that served liquor was on our last night in Marrakech. Otherwise, we were able to buy Moroccan beer and wine in Carrefour grocery stores in Fes and Ourzazat, and in our Fes and Tangier hotels. Foreign booze is available too - we just didn’t buy it. 

A general comment about Morocco - lousy hotel Wi-Fi is common, but cell coverage was very good everywhere we went. I used an Airolo eSIM that seemed to default to the Orange network. In order to keep up this blog while on the road, I’d have needed to buy a SIM card with lots of data. 

Toilets in Morocco are mostly okay. They often have no TP, and sometimes you need to pay a very nominal fee, but they were very clean. I only used two squat toilets, I think.

As Wendy pointed out, it was great to not use anything from our first aid kit this trip other than a few cough drops. No ibuprofen even. I did arrive home with a cold, but that's a distant memory now.  

I feel so fortunate to have made this trip with Wendy and my long-time friends.  The fond memories will last a long time.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0