Wiped Out by a Short Ride - Draper to Whytheville - The Mo Mo Tour - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2024

Wiped Out by a Short Ride - Draper to Whytheville

I had another good Warmshowers experience with my hosts Curtis and Jennifer in Draper. They own and operate the Spinning Jenny Vineyard. At dinner they served me some of their red wine. It was really, really good so I chugged a whole bottle.

Just kidding but not about the quality of the wine.

After coffee and Cheerios I hit the road. It poured yesterday after I stopped riding so my decision to do a short day was a wise one.

Today’s ride on rolling country roads featured a strong, constant headwind with gusts well above 20 mph.

After 5 miles I stopped and ate a banana. It had no effect on my speed or attitude. At 10 miles I stopped for second breakfast at a McDonalds. It helped a little but soon the beatdown continued.

Today’s plan was to ride 50 or 60 over a mountain ridge to Troutdale. I didn’t come close. I struggled mightily on even the smallest hills.

At least the scenery was good
Heart 0 Comment 0

All the while the skies threatened to let loose with a downpour (see below).

On prior tours, after about a week, I got stronger. This time I seem to be getting weaker. It was so discouraging that I stopped at a city park and checked to see if my brakes were dragging on the rims. Nope.

Interesting sign in downtown Whytheville
Heart 0 Comment 0

After lunch in Whytheville I knew I was done for the day. I ate hot dogs in an eatery in the first floor of an historic building; Woodrow Wilson’s wife was born on the second floor.

The last two days have been a constant struggle on even the shortest climbs. I am not having fun.

I checked out the possibility of renting a car and going home. The understaffed rental agency in town had nothing available so I rode across town and up yet another monster hill to a hotel.

I checked in and took a nap.

Tomorrow I’ll decide whether I’ll continue. The incessant climbing has worn my ass out.

Update: The nap did me good. After dinner, I read a bunch of online journals about the part of the TransAm I’ve been riding. Nearly all say the hills are much steeper than the elevation profile on my maps indicate. I probably climbed 4,000 feet the last couple of days in short bursts.

They all agree that the big climb tomorrow isn’t nearly as bad as they thought.

I’m thinking of ditching a spare water bottle that I haven’t touched in 300 miles.

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 607 miles (977 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0