Tour Launch Eve - The Mo Mo Tour - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2024

Tour Launch Eve

As with all my posts on this site, this journal is constructed from contemporaneous posts on my blog, rootchopper.com. 

Every tour needs a name. Since I’m riding to Missouri that’s one Mo. it’ll be my third time in Missouri so that’s mo’ Mo. I’m going beyond Missouri that’s mo’ riding. Since I’m dealing with the Appalachian and Ozark Mountains, we have mo’ mountains. If successful I’ll be adding three mo’ states (Kentucky, Arkansas, and Oklahoma) to my 50 states hunt. (I'm 37 for 50 so far.)

The plan is to ride the Adventure Cycling Association's (ACA) Atlantic Coast Route south to Ashland Virginia where I will pick up the ACA's Transamerica Trail. I'll head west on the TransAm all the way to western part of Missouri thereby completing my personal TransAm. (I did the other two thirds of the Trail in 2019 and 2022, with two friends I met in a bike shelter in Ash Grove, Missouri named Corey and Mark.) After that, the plan is to ride south to northwest Arkansas and then west to Tulsa, Oklahoma (and maybe Oklahoma City). How I’m getting back is anybody’s guess.

Saturday, May 18

For the first time in a week, I managed eight hours of sleep. Gabapentin is my jam.

The weather was lousy outside. Rain. Humid. Dank. Perfect.

I spent the afternoon, amassing the stuff I need for the tour. I started by emptying my saddlebag. It must weight 10 or 15 pounds! Spare tube, tire levers, patch kits, and pump were transferred to the "tour" pile. The bag itself became the "home" pile.

Next I grabbed a bunch of white kitchen garbage bags and some zip lock bags. I use the former as a liner for my allegedly water-proof Ortlieb roll-top panniers. The latter contain small items organized by use.

My right rear pannier was first to load. Sleeping bag, sleeping pad, pillow, camp towel, camp washcloth, rope, clothes pins, and maps and medications I won't need for the first ten days. I'm also packing a wire mesh bag for my food for camping in the mountains.

The left rear pannier contains clothing (for off bike and on), swim trunks, rain gear, a floppy hat, toiletries and daily medications, and sandals. Rain gear is in a separate bag. An empty bag is reserved for dirty clothing. I'll also add a small bag with electronic stuff like cables, plugs, and batteries tomorrow. My back-up prescription glasses go in the bottom.

The front panniers are smaller. The front right pannier contains anything I need for bike maintenance. Tire changing stuff goes in one zip lock. Spare tubes in another. Tools (allen keys), a wrench, a master link tool, go in yet another. Small items like valve stems, my fiber fix spokes (a cord that can substitute for a broken spoke), and such go in a third. I also stashed a couple of cables in a small insert built into the pannier.

The front left pannier contains stuff I will need easy access to. Mostly this is food, my lock, sunscreen, butt cream, a back up water bottle when needed. I also included one small bottle of pickle juice and and another of electrolyte tablets.

The handlebar bag will hold my phone and headphones, wallet, dog defenses (whistle, horn, and mace), a pen, my map(s) of the day, prescription sunglasses, a power pack, a headlight, some pickle juice, electrolyte tablets, and snacks.

Finally, I will have a dry bag containing my tent, stakes, ground cloth, and collapsible cane. (I have lumbar spinal stenosis. The cane lets me walk more than 100 yards with less pain.)

Before
Heart 0 Comment 0
After
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now you see why it took four hours to organize all this stuff. It will weigh a lot; it always does. In my experience the weight isn't much of a problem - I'll be going about 10 miles per hour - except for the hills, of course. My biggest concern is how my body will hold up. I've done a number of 50-mile rides in recent weeks but nagging back and neck issues have been causing me concern and pain. Lord knows, how they will hold up to tent camping. Even when in good shape, I have struggled to sleep well outdoors. Advil, Advil PM, and Gabapentin will help in that regard.

Sunday, May 19

Today I loaded The Mule, my 1991 Specialized Sequoia) with all the bags and went for a one-mile test ride. I tweaked a few things as a result and all seems fine. My last task is to go for a ride to a bike store for some butt cream packets.

The Mule with everything except toiletries, meds, cables, and batteries.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It being a nice day I decided to ride Big Nellie. On the way to Old Town we rode across the now officially opened Dyke Marsh Bridge on the Mount Vernon Trail.

It’s wide. It’s new. It’s about time!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Day one promises to be very long, 70 to 85 miles depending on where I stay tomorrow night in or near Fredericksburg Virginia.

Watch this space.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0