Recovering - The Mo Mo Tour - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2024 to May 26, 2024

Recovering

I have spent the last three days lying around the house feeling generally useless. I have had no energy. In a way, I wish my symptoms were worse so that I could feel better about abandoning the tour.

The folks at a local bike shop all came down with “the flu” which may or may not be the exact illness I have but it sure sounds like what I’ve got. The Washington Nationals had an outbreak in early May. Their catcher was so sick he lost 15 to 20 pounds. I should feel lucky.

Truth be told, I wasn’t feeling so hot when I left home last week. I attributed this to the usual pre-tour anxiety but maybe it was the first signs of the illness. This would explain why the second day climb through Fredericksburg and the ensuing 30 miles were as so much harder than in 2017.

I slept until 11 a. m. on Friday May 24, after returning home. I proceeded to lay about the house all day. 

On May 25, I drove to REI to get some replacements for tour items. One was a power pack. I bought one from Best Buy a month ago but I never could get it to work properly. It didn’t come with instructions that I could find. The new power pack was very similar in design. It had instructions. I plugged it in. Then, on a lark, I followed the same instructions for the old power pack. Voila! It worked. During this process I opened the box that the old power pack came in. There, under some packaging, were the instructions in a small booklet. Dang.

So today I needed to return the new power pack to REI. On Sunday, instead of driving, I rode. I figured I needed to test my fitness to see where my body was at. The ride is generally flat, until the last half mile when some climbing is involved. I felt crummy the whole way – lead legs, coughing up gunk – and the climbing didn’t help.

The REI return process went smoothly and I headed home by a different route. Again, most of the way was flat. Still I kept having to clear my lungs. About five miles from home there is a 100-yard incline to negotiate. I zipped up it. My legs felt better. Hmmm. How odd.

View of Dyke Marsh from new bridge on the Mount Vernon Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

About two miles later I decided to take a hill that I have used for tour training in the past. It’s maybe 150 yards long and pretty steep. Definitely granny gear worthy. I rode nearly all the way to the top in my middle chain ring, then got out of the saddle and muscled the last 50 yards over the top. Whoa.

I finished strong, 30 miles in all, and felt fine. There’s a lingering trace of congestion in my chest and sinuses but I feel better than I have in a week.

So, how do I proceed?

Well, hanging around home for the next six weeks isn’t going to happen. It’s boring. Moreover, it’s dangerous because my wife will kill me. She wants alone time too.

I have two options to resume the tour. Option 1 is to ride to the Amtrak station 6 1/2 miles from home and take the train back to Charlottesville. I’m not crazy about this idea because the loading process could damage The Mule, and I’d have to deal with the mechanical aspect of removing and installing the wheel without a stand. (I know, I’d have to do this if I get a flat. I’d rather avoid it if I can.)

Option 2 is to ride The Mule to Charlottesville by a more or less direct route: 75 miles or so to Culpepper on Day 1, 50-ish miles to Charlottesville on Day 2. (My tour route was about 230 miles). If it turns out that I'm still  seriously sick, I can catch a train home from either city.

I'm looking at a re-start day of Thursday May 30, assuming the weather improves.

Either way I have been thinking of ways to lighten my load: leave my master link tool (they look like pliers) and my allen keys home (a multitool will have to do). I can take two spare tubes instead of three. (I have patch kits.) I can switch my off-bike shorts and belt to a second pair of bike over-shorts. Also, I’m going to leave some maps home. I had notions of calling an audible and riding north from Tulsa to points unknown or riding south to New Orleans. The maps for these contigencies are staying home. (If I do decide to change my route, I can always download maps from tha ACA.) I’m only taking four TransAm maps and one Route 66 map (in case I continue to Oklahoma City). All of this might come to a pound of weight-saving.  Every ounce counts.

If I feel good tomorrow, I’ll start packing for Round 2 of the Mo Mo Tour.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0