Obeying My Google Master - Mt. Vernon to Culpepper - The Mo Mo Tour - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2024

Obeying My Google Master - Mt. Vernon to Culpepper

But for some insane traffic and food issues, today’s ride was about as good as it gets.

Temperatures in the low 60s. Low humidity. Tailwind.

My route to Culpepper could have repeated a little over 30 miles of the start of Day 1 but I changed it. Instead of using the Mount Vernon Trail, I rode flat neighborhood streets through Hybla Valley. I repeated the two-mile stretch on US 1 through Fort Belvoir. Instead of the big ups and downs of Lorton and Occoquan, I rode Old Colchester Road. It has rolling hills but is much more pleasant. It put me onto US 1 at the bridge over the Occoquan River, skipping the steep drop and climb at the town of the same name. I was now in Prince William County.

I followed the Google’s directions through Woodbridge and Dale City. I rode through heavy traffic on three-lane highways and dealt with five asshole pickup truck drivers. One even cleverly told me to “Get on the sidewalk.”

Eventually a side path appeared, lowering my anxiety level considerably. I picked up Dumfries Road, a busy cross county highway. There was a side path but I chose the 12-foot paved shoulder with rumble strips.

I turned onto Aden Road where I danced with dump trucks a week ago. After six miles I stopped at a country store. Judging from the lines, the grilled food was awesome but there was no place to sit down and eat it.

I bought a chocolate milk and a cherry pie in a box, went outside and inhaled it next to 3a parked plumber’s truck.

The plumber came out of the store and remarked that I must be brave or insane, considering all the dump truck traffic. Ironically, I only saw two dump trucks all day but the plumber nearly hit me as he backed his truck up. (We both had a laugh over it.)

View from the Aden Market
Heart 0 Comment 0

After another six miles I left the Day 1 route entirely and gave myself over to my Google master.

As I continued toward Culpepper the route became a bit hillier. It was now a bit warmer and more humid. Still it was comfortable riding. I stopped at two more places to get proper lunch but their grills were closed. One place sold nothing but packaged Latin food. I admit the cases of cookie-like pastries were tempting but I needed protein.

There was a lot of this today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Near Remington the road ran parallel to a train line (the one my Amtrak train used last week). It was totally flat.

All good things come to an end. The road began to roll. At Brandy Station I stopped at a Subway for a wrap. Turkey, bacon, avocado. My tummy was happy.

The next nine miles were up and down until I came to Culpepper. The Google was drunk and sent me all over town to get to the hotel.

I had intended to stay at a Best Western but when I arrived it had been re-branded as a Days Inn. I walked around the complex looking for the registration desk. At least half the rooms were under renovation. I never found the check in desk so I went next door to the Holiday Inn Express and booked a clean, quiet room for $10 more. Well worth it.

Tomorrow’s ride to Charlottesville is about 50 miles. The weather will be a repeat of today.

I’m off to buy grub at the 7-11 next door. I ate lunch at 4 so any old food will do.

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 312 miles (502 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0