I Hate Hayters Gap - Damascus to Elk Garden - The Mo Mo Tour - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2024

I Hate Hayters Gap - Damascus to Elk Garden

The hostel was quite cold last night. And my knees were aching from yesterday’s hill fest. I didn’t sleep well.

At 8 I walked the block to the Damascus Diner where I ate dinner last night. I ordered “The Hogg” and I felt like one after eating it.

The Hogg
Heart 0 Comment 0

Before leaving town I stopped at a bike shop to use their floor pump. Next I headed along rolling country roads to Meadowview. It was a net gain of 100 feet of elevation over 15 miles.

The next 5.7 miles are a descent of about 500 feet to the town of Hayters (rhymes with highters) Gap.

Shortly after the town came the 3-mile, wooded climb to the eponymous gap at 3,000 feet. Fortunately, no trucks are allowed on this road so it is relatively safe despite numerous switchbacks.

Truth in Advertising
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made the first mile without much difficulty. I could tell the grade was increasing with each switchback. I decided to climb 1/3rd to 1/2 mile then rest. This worked well for a mile. I stopped to rest and put both feet on the ground. When I went to start pedaling again, I couldn’t get enough momentum to keep from toppling over.

So I started walking. I soon discovered that pedaling bike up a grade at 3.2 mph is much harder than pushing it bike up at 2.9 mph. So I walked the last mile to the top.

The top at Hayters Gap
Heart 0 Comment 0

The descent was equally steep, so much so that I stopped twice to let my rims cool.

Pretty roads after the gap
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped for the day at a United Methodist Church bike hostel at Elk Garden, 33.5 miles for the day.

Right on the route
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m accompanied by Peter from Los Angeles who is traveling light and arrived from Troutdale.

Tomorrow’s destination is the lodge at Breaks Interstate Park. Their restaurant closes at 4 and doesn’t reopen until Tuesday so I need to get up and ride. It’s about 50 miles with some short, steep hills.

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 699 miles (1,125 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0