Dog Wars in Coal Country - The Mo Mo Tour - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2024

Dog Wars in Coal Country

I talked to the hostel host in Booneville, my scheduled stop for tomorrow. She gave me alarming info about the extent of the dog problem between Hazard and there. She said some dog owners have been known to sic their dogs on bicyclists. She recommended that I buy either wasp or bear spray and to not stop.

No mas. I decided to rent a car and drive to the next city on route that will accept a one-way rental. This happens to be Berea, the next town after Booneville.

I have always criticized bike tourist who shuttle past difficult sections on their tours but this is different. This is a very dangerous situation.

I will miss about 115 miles of riding but I hope to sleep well tonight.

I’m hoping the car agency has the vehicle I need. I reserved an SUV but I may have to settle for a pickup or something else.

It’s possible that the car rental place won’t have anything I can use so I’ve reached out to a local Warmshowers host to see if she can help.

Update: Warmshowers host can’t help. She recommends throwing treats to the dogs. Someone earlier in the trip recommended soaking doggie treats with a laxative.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0