the route - How I Saved My Marriage - CycleBlaze

the route

I spent the next eight months planning out how far we'd be riding each day, where we would be staying, a nice restaurant or two at the beginnng and end, and interesting things to do along the way. I looked at weather maps and at prevailing winds and google street view until I came up with the best route I could create. 

My original plan was to fly into Frankfurt, take a train to Luxembourg, then ride back. However, I was surprised to find that an open-jaw flight into Luxembourg and out of Frankfurt was within $100 of the round trip to Frankfurt. That really simplified things.

About a week before we left, I was disappointed to learn that neither Karen nor my sister would be able to go. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Suzanne GibsonI'm looking forward to your journal. I hope the narrative isn't too short. And did you get to see Klaus?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Scott AndersonGreat choice! I look forward to following, hope to see plenty of words AND pictures. Best of luck with the weather.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rich FrasierLooks like a great route! I'm looking forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
George HallFrom St. Goar to Mainz you will be riding my weekend ride route that I did for 6 months in 2019 - so I know you will enjoy this section! I was on a work assignment living in Weisbaden (across the river from Mainz). Almost every weekend I rode to the train station in Weisbaden and enjoyed a croissant and coffee for breakfast, then rode across the bridge to Mainz and went upriver toward St. Goar. Mainz is rather nice near the river, the Gutenberg museum is right nearby. Duh - It just occurred to me that since you are writing this in arrears, you have already done this trip and don't need my $.02 worth of advice. Can't wait to see your pics, especially those from Boppard to Mainz, to see familiar sights. I loved my time there, another 6-month assignment to Weisbaden is about the only thing I can think of that would tempt me out of retirement. Looking forward to following along,

Buddy
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mark BinghamTo Suzanne GibsonSuzanne, I can't believe you remembered about Klaus!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago