epilogue - How I Saved My Marriage - CycleBlaze

epilogue

The trip back to Iowa was the reverse of the trip to Europe, and not just geographically. If you recall, on the 19th of July in 2024, there was a worldwide outage affecting Window computers. As we were sitting in the Frankfurt airport, we saw on the television about all of the flights that were being delayed, most of which were eventually cancelled. We waited for an additional 30 minutes before being allowed to board, and had no delays after that. That was pretty amazing considering that, worldwide, flights were being cancelled left and right. We later learned how extensive the problem was:  some people were stuck in the airport for 2-3 days. 

The other benefit from the computer shutdown was this:  On our flight to Luxembourg, we attempted to squeeze a few extra dollars out of the airlines by purchasing first class tickets - but ONLY for the first section from Cedar Rapids to Chicago, not the other three legs. For the extra $70.00, instead of checking one 50-lb bag, we were allowed to check two 70-lb bags for free.  (otherwise we would've had to pay the charge for extra weight) Would they charge us on the other flights for the extra items? It turns out they didn't.  On the way back we tried it again, but the British Airways lady was having none of that. However, she was then unable to add the charge because (we think) of the computer problems so we got the extra weight allowance.

<><><><><><><><><>

The Bingham Travel Agency, with its single hardworking employee and its lone customer, just came across its first review, from an "H. Bingham":

“Overall, I was very satisfied with this tour company, and am rating it a 9.5 out of 10. The route was well-planned and not difficult. Restaurant selection was good, with a few singularly excellent places to dine. The hotel accommodations were also good, and of the locations was outstanding.  I only have a couple of complaints:
First, I had so carry my own luggage the entire time. The higher-end companies carry it for you. 
Second, there were a number of sexual comments made during the trip.”

Fortunately, I was able to respond to the comments:
"Thank you so much for your feedback. We pride ourselves on selecting the best hotels and restaurants for a fraction of the cost you'd pay elsewhere.
Regarding the luggage, if you recall, it was made very clear before the beginning of the trip that the tour guide would carry your luggage for you, and at no additional cost. (I've been dealing with baggage for years).  However, you opted out and decided you wanted to carry your own. Once that decision was made, logistics made it impossible to alter what I could carry.
I recall the the sexual comments and, if you decide to use this travel agency again, I will attempt to respond to the sexual comments you made in a more positive manner.
Thank you for using the Bingham Travel Agency, and we hope to see you again."

Marriage saved!

After twenty seven years of marriage I still can't think of anyone I'd rather travel with. She's a good sport, loves to travel, has a great sense of humor, and isn't a morning person. What more can you ask for? It's nice to have a partner with whom you can share things you love. Having said that, my next trip will be solo since it's going to involve a lot of sleeping on the ground and in cheap hotels.  

In some ways, this is very different than my other journals. At times I felt like I was back in the 1970s, when I was subjected to a friend's or relative's slide show presentation from their vacation...  "And here's another picture of Billy in front of the Denture Museum. Isn't that great shot!"  I hope it didn't feel like that. It seems like it was a "I did this, then I did that" kind of tour. Plus, you know, all the food pictures. The next trip will have fewer of food, and way fewer of me in it.

Thanks to the Cycleblazers who helped, and in particular Steve Miller. 

One thing is for certain: I have a newfound and lasting respect for people who post daily as they travel. I created a shared photo album on my phone and posted pictures (almost) daily, and it was difficult. Not only did it take a lot of time, it took away precious time from my vacation. Hats off to those of you who do.

Thanks for following along!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Rich FrasierGreat journal, Mark! I loved it! I'll shamelessly steal parts of your route and your hotel choices for an upcoming tour.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Scott AndersonI can’t believe you made her carry her own panniers! What kind of professional tour guide does that!

Other than that, great journal. I’m really glad for both of you that it worked out, and glad for us that you shared the experience. More like this!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
George HallAnother fantastic journal, thanks for writing it. It brought back many memories of my time in Germany cycling some of the same paths as you. I must admit to some jealousy in that my wife isn't a cyclist and I can't copy your adventure. Looking forward to your next journal, best of luck

Buddy
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Mike AylingGreat journal Mark.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Mark BinghamTo George HallThanks, Buddy! Maybe someday you could both make it over there and she could hang out in Paris (or Berlin or London) to do some shopping and visiting museums while you tour. A reasonable compromise?
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Mark BinghamTo Mike AylingThank you, Mike! I appreciate you spending the time to read it, and to look at all of the food pictures. :-)
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Mark BinghamTo Rich FrasierThanks, Rich! Of course, I got help from other Cycleblazers from the Forum and elsewhere, so it was sort of a group effort. If you decide to do this one, I can send you the .gpx file we used.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago