a day off in Zell - How I Saved My Marriage - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2024

a day off in Zell

our breakfast table
Heart 2 Comment 0
and our breakfast (or, rather, the first of several courses)
Heart 3 Comment 0
then a bit of relaxing after that exhausting breakfast
Heart 3 Comment 0

During breakfast we talked with Melanie, the hotel owner/manager. Her husband is the vintner of Wohlgemuth Heim winery and she runs the hotel. Prior to this, she worked in R&D in a large company and travelled around the world. Now the world comes to her. I found it interesting that she was aghast that  in some places in America, their wines cost "$40.00 a bottle!" I'm not positive, but I don't think people buy expensive wines in Europe because even the cheapest table wine is usually excellent. 

Talking with her made me wonder what it would be like to live in a place that's so lovely that people go there to vacation. Everything about this place is amazing but I suppose that, like everywhere, there are pros and cons.

This is the view from the futon where I spent most of the day reading, except when I leaned over and fell asleep for an hour.
Heart 2 Comment 0
although we did do some laundry
Heart 1 Comment 0
and also wandered around the hotel for a bit
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
d
This is hanging in our room. You see a cool wine poster, Heather and I see a spinal cord injury. :-)
Heart 3 Comment 0

On the way to dinner, a bee landed on my sunglasses, then strolled across my nose to the other lens, then back. As I moved my hand towards it to shoo it away it decided to amble back onto my nose and sting me, exactly on the center. It was fairly painful, but started getting better after Heather was able to remove the stinger. In the picture below you can see it's still red. It was uncomfortable for the rest of the evening, but not terribly so.

We ate at Pizzeria Dua, which had excellent ratings but was just okay. As we were riding to the restaurant, three MAMILs sped past us on their e-bikes going way too fast, almost running over a pedestrian, and really scaring him. They ended up sitting right next to our table and talking loudly throughout the meal. I'm glad they weren't speaking English.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Mark BinghamMiddle-Aged Man in Lycra. The first time I saw that acronym was on Cycleblaze... Peter Brown, I think?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
We tried the Black Cat riesling. It's a decent table wine, but not nearly as good as the Wohlgemuth Heim wines which were available at our hotel.
Heart 3 Comment 0
After dinner we stopped for some ice cream, then headed back.
Heart 2 Comment 0
One of the few streets we pedaled on. There's no need with all of the bike paths.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heather took this on the way back. There's a small spigot in front with a sign that says "Do Not Drink." Considering the location, I wasn't tempted.
Heart 1 Comment 0
These two pictures were taken in front of our hotel.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking out the window and enjoying the evening. It's still light at 9:45. This rest day was restful.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0