epilogue to the epilogue - The No Tear Tier - CycleBlaze

epilogue to the epilogue

2024 update

Klaus and I have kept in touch since our trip more than fifteen years ago, including FaceTiming and texting on WhatsApp. A few years after circumnavigating the globe, he rode from the northern tip of Alaska to the southern tip of South America. He’s taken a lot of other trips as well, all of which can be found on his website:  bike wanderlust and polarsteps

I’m really excited (!), because for the first time since 2008, I'm going to be seeing him in person, in Germany, during my current bike trip. He's training for the NorthCape 4000, a 4,000 kilometer, self-supported ride from Turin, Italy, to the North Cape in Norway. It's nothing like he's ever done before, and he considers it his "midlife crisis." He's pushing sixty years old, but even so will be averaging around 125 miles a day for a couple of weeks. He told me that before he started training he'd only ever ridden 125 miles one time.

[klaus]

I still have no idea whether Ari and Erin completed their trip. They only have two posts on their blog, and none after I met them. I do have their last names and googled them when I started posting this journal on Cycleblaze. They appear to have done well for themselves, and I've considered contacting them to see if they actually finished.

Joe and Robin? Also, no idea.

Paul, Hewes, and Susan are likely still riding, but I didn't keep in touch with them.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 6
George HallCongratulations on a very successful tour! I very much enjoyed the journal, read every page. I understand exactly the strange feeling you have when completing a long tour - it's very hard to explain it to someone outside of the cycle-touring community. When your friend Klaus rode from France to Frankfurt, Germany, he most likely rode on the bike routes along Rhine River as he approached Frankfurt - which means he would have ridden through Mainz - Wiesbaden is just across the river from Mainz and that's where I stayed for 6 months in 2019 - long story short, Klaus would have ridden on the same roads and bike paths along the Rhine River that I rode every weekend. Just an interesting tidbit, at least to me. I'm amazed that you had no dog encounters - but you did veer off the ACA route as you entered into the southern underbelly of our great country, so perhaps that was the saving difference? And, of course, your tour was a few years ago - many others have had lots of dog encounters. I have an interest in riding the Southern Tier someday and hope to lessen the dog issues somehow. But I digress - thanks for publishing your tale, it was a very enjoyable read!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rich FrasierI really enjoyed this journal. Thanks for writing it!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauOutstanding journal, Mark. The quotes, the stories, the descriptions --all most enjoyable. Even your interesting encounters with other people make me think I should reconsider my loner touring style in which I try my best to AVOID people.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mark BinghamTo George HallHi Buddy,

Thanks for reading the journal. Because I don’t write my journals in real time I have that same end-of-trip feeling when I make the final post. I just finished experiencing the trip again, and wonder how long it’ll be before I pick it up again.

Klaus lived in Wiesbaden when I met him, and now lives in Frankfurt, so he’s pedaled those trails for at least 40 years. I have no doubt that you’ve traveled over the same paths.

I’m looking forward to reading your next journal, regardless of where you end up going. If you do the Southern Tier, I think I would suggest an East-to-West route because of the wind. And because there are fewer dogs in that direction. ;-)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mark BinghamTo Rich FrasierThanks, Rich! I appreciate the time you spent reading it, and I’m looking forward to reading about your next ride.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Mark BinghamTo Gregory GarceauThanks, Greg, although I think you misspelled the word “almost” when you noted it’s “all most enjoyable.” 😊

Regarding my encounters with people, I find it interesting because I’m about the most shy, introverted person I know. However, I find people endlessly fascinating so I love to hear their stories. So, while I can stay at home and be very happy never leaving the house, when I do meet someone I’m completely engrossed in what they have to say. I believe everyone has a good story if you’re willing to listen, and, having met you in person, know that you’re personable and people will open up if you give them a chance. Some of my best bike tour experiences are related to people.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago