An Idea - Island Loop - CycleBlaze

An Idea

I felt the need to loop Manhattan Island. I was motivated by the Great Saunter, a perimeter walk that takes place once a year. I wanted to be as close to the water as possible within reason. Which basically means my route will end up being pretty subjective. The advice on the street (reddit) was to do the east side early to avoid the crush of people in the narrow spots. The west side has a dedicated bike lane for the whole length so that may be less of a problem. Ongoing construction may be an issue on the east side. One redditor said to ride up 1st Avenue to avoid the riverside construction sites. I’m in no hurry. I see this as an exploratory ride to see what is possible.   

   I’ve learned, Sunday morning is the best time to ride in Manhattan, the earlier the better. I have a Tourist Loop that takes in many iconic buildings and neighborhoods. It rolls down 5th Ave for a bit which doesn't have bike lanes. Which is why it is best on a Sunday morning. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

I will be entering Manhattan over the Brooklyn Bridge on the relatively new bike lane. The bike lane was carved out of a Manhattan bound car lane. It is behind a Jersey barrier and a cyclone fence. We lost the view the walkway provided but gained access. It is far from perfect, but as a NYC bicyclist you are glad for the scraps. The walkway hasn’t been feasible for years, there are too many pedestrians. So over the Brooklyn Bridge and up the Eastside, counter clockwise, linking parks, paths, roads and the occasional sidewalk. A 37 mile loop, wish me luck.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0