Training, wheels - A Fistful of Yen - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2024

Training, wheels

Heart 0 Comment 0

So, about those mountains... We're trying to get in shape for them. Our current schedules make the overnight shakedown tours of years past impossible. Instead, we've chosen three nearby hills with grades of 10% and higher, and combined them into a single ride. We do this once a week, and then do a 50+ mile ride on another day. To be honest, we're not doing much more than that. I think some of the wind has gone out of our sails. We've memorized every inch of every road within a large radius of home. It's not boring -- riding is always fun -- but it's not particularly inspiring, either.

That having been said, even the shorter rides can be filled with spectacular views, especially when there are hills involved:

Discovery Park never fails to bring a smile, especially when we practically have the place to ourselves
Heart 0 Comment 0
Harbor Island in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kerry Park and its postcard view of downtown
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetOne reason I love touring is I get to ride my bike somewhere I haven’t ridden dozens of times before. By the time fall arrives, I’m bored with my local rides—even if I’ve been away touring in the spring.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Kevin StevensTo Jacquie GaudetYes, Jackie, you've described the novelty-familiarity cycle (no pun intended) very succinctly. It must be true that many of us tour to keep things fresh!
Reply to this comment
5 days ago