The route (a work in progress) - A Fistful of Yen - CycleBlaze

The route (a work in progress)

Here's the current draft:

https://www.google.com/maps/d/edit?mid=1juYS4THVtVi8vyRv8aXn5-Xmo1egg_A&usp=sharing

It started with bits and pieces cobbled together from the Japan Cycling Navigator web site, which seems to be just barely hanging on by a thread. It has downloadable GPX tracks for some pieces of a "length of Japan" route. Other pieces are available on their Facebook group page. Would putting everything in one place be too much to ask?

As I pored over the route in more detail, I concluded that some of it is just too far off the beaten track for us. Too much climbing for too little reward. So I'm looking for alternatives in hopes of finding a nice balance of mountains, countryside, and city riding. As I research and tweak, I'm learning more about the geography of Japan. I no longer mix up the names of the four major islands. That's a start! I'm also learning the names of prefectures and lesser-known cities along the way.

As tempted as we (okay, really, just me) are to start from the northernmost point, Cape Soya, I don't think it's a great use of our time. However, if we manage to get to Fukuoka ahead of schedule, we may very well continue to cruise south towards Cape Sata at the southern tip of Kyushu.

One of our goals is to make the entire journey under pedal and ferry power. Japan's train system is so tempting to use that I think we're best off pretending it doesn't exist unless we really find ourselves in a bind.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Ron SeguinLooking forward to following your adventure.
If I could make one suggestion for a tweak to your route, it would be this.
From Shodoshima Island, take a ferry to Okayama instead of Takamatsu, then ride to Onomichi. You could then ride the Shimanami Kaido, one of the most scenic rides anywhere. From Imabari there is a ferry to Okamura Island and the Tobishima Kaido, another cycling gem, towards Hiroshima.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago