Pretty fly for a zip tie - A Fistful of Yen - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2024

Pretty fly for a zip tie

Boxing Day comes early this year. I wanted to wait, but I just couldn't help myself. Each time I pack the bikes at home, I wonder if there's a better way to do it. First priority is the safety of the bikes, followed right on its heels by ease of reassembly. It's so awkward and fumbly to plant one's self in the middle of an airport, spewing cardboard, tape, and styrofoam everywhere while armed only with a multitool to bolt everything back in place. In a vastly different time zone, after being on the road and in the air for more than 24 hours.

This is why I've learned to organize things. Labels indicate left and right, my bike or my wife's. Bolts and washers taped to their respective accessories. Anything I can do to make the process idiot-proof. Because by the end of our flights, I am guaranteed to be a bona fide idiot. One time I forgot to tighten the stem bolts, and next thing you know, I'm splayed out on the departures tarmac, both ego and body bruised.

I'm always one to worry about what nonsense TSA will attempt with our bike boxes. At least at SeaTac, they always hand-inspect oversize baggage. I imagine employees shoving parts around willy-nilly, looking for anything suspicious, with zero concern for the fate of our precious cargo. They're just doing their jobs, and I'm glad someone is doing it, I suppose. When I secure every part to every other part so that it comes out as one unit, it feels like overkill, and I'm just being paranoid. I will say, however, that each of our bikes has been the victim of damage in transit, and always on the outbound flights. 

I have a plastic fork protector saved from the previous tour (which I intend to keep using), as well as a ton of foam, sticky bubble wrap, and other goodies from one of the bike boxes. I've put this embarrassment of packing riches to good use. If anything breaks this time, it's certainly not due to negligence on my part.

I was able to leave the saddle and seatpost on this time. It uses this fancy shock absorbing system that's a royal pain to set up, with parts that are easily lost. I had to remove the front fender and rear rack, but those are easy to reinstall.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Drive side. Tires are deflated. They're tubeless, so I don't think a mid-air blowout is likely, but whatever.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It fits! As usual, the handlebars are the trickiest part of making it work. This bike's are on a very short leash, so there's not much wiggle room.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sleeping bag has to go somewhere, so it might as well be here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Drive side
Heart 0 Comment 0
Non-drive side
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plastic fork protector, sitting on a cardboard pedestal that makes the bike sit more upright in the box. Pretty slick!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not quite an e-bike box, but pretty roomy. This bike will be a snap to reassemble.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sleep well, my two-tired friend!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A tale of two bike boxes
Heart 0 Comment 0

We've decided to check two bags (these awesome moving bags), since we have allowance for it. My saddle/seatpost, front racks, trunk bag, our pedals, and other goodies will go there in order to keep bike box weights to a minimum. It feels very luxurious to have so much storage space. Hopefully we won't end up bringing more stuff than we can carry on our bikes!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachel and Patrick HugensYour packing method looks a lot like mine. The only things I add is that I take the derailleur off the hanger and zip-tie in in the rear wheel to avoid the hanger getting bent if the derailleur gets hit. Also, I make a couple of carboard rolls that I use as spacers inside the box. If the box ended up laying flat with other luggage on top it would not get crushed as easily.
Good luck on your tip. Ours is almost over. Wishing you tailwinds! Patrick
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Kevin StevensYes! Cardboard rolls! That's a great idea. Detaching the derailleur might get me into more trouble than the risk of bending the hanger is worth, but then again, a bent hanger is a huge pain to deal with. Been there, done that, don't recommend it.

Also, good luck with the remainder of your trip! Both the start and end of a tour can be quite stressful. We should allow ourselves and our partners lots of grace under the pressures of the moment.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago