Oct 24 - Pula: Taking a well-deserved day of rest - Hvala: It's Been Thirty Sweet Years (Tour 16) - 2016 🇭🇷 🇸🇮 🇮🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 24, 2016

Oct 24 - Pula: Taking a well-deserved day of rest

Top Center Rooms and Apartments, Pula

GENERALLY when I tour, I ride for three to four days then take a day off, especially when I am out of shape. Like I was before the start of THIS trip. Overestimating my strength from the comfort of my desk chair at home, I booked a full week of accommodations before I gave it any more thought. Suffice to say, after a week of tough climbing with some of the days in pretty miserable weather, it sure was nice today to be off of the bike for the most part. I was happily able to let some muscles rest and work the walking ones.

When I booked my second night here in Pula, I thought I was booking into the same place. YesterdayI was in Top Centar Apartments. Today I am booked in Top Center Rooms and Apartments. Tricky and not so cool. I decided to luxuriate in the comfort of my luxury apartment til 10 am. The owners said I could stay longer, but I had already planned to meet the owner to place 2 at 10 am. I loaded up the bike, came around the corner and within a wee bit along came Sasha the owner. He helped me up to the room and though I was sorry to leave the other one, this one was also really nice with a better location. When I look out the window to the right I can see the Roman gate. How cool is that?

Next up was to plan for tomorrow's bus ride to Opatija. I booked two more nights after Opatija then headed to the bus station to see about buying the ticket for tomorrow's bus. Well, no, they said, I have to buy it in the morning and suggested I come half an hour early prior to departure, so that would be 8 am. Knowing how I am , I am going to head out of here early enough to be there at 0730. I just hope the driver doesn't simply say no and shake his head about the bike. Fingers are crossed.

I was getting lunch-hungry so returned to my room area and had a pizza at Pompei. Leavened bread dough for the crust, a dribble of olive oil and a slight lick of tomato sauce, then prosciutto, olives, artichokes and a wee sprinkle of cheese. It was delicious.

Powered up with the pizza, I decided to take the other owner's suggestion of going to see Pula's beaches. It was about a 30 to 40 minute walk, but what a beautiful area once I got to the beaches. Just before was filled with communist era block apartment towers that were really ugly. Some were from the 1800s but were in quite a state of disrepair. A shame.

The beaches were a series of rocky coves where the waves were gently lapping onto the rocky beaches. The water was definitely warm enough to swim though nobody was actually in the water. If I had had someone with me to watch my stuff, I would have gone in. Not as warm as Cuba, but much warmer than Cochrane ( ie home in northern Ontario.).

I meandered back. The air was starting to get heavy and kind of hazy. The forecast is for lots of rain tomorrow and to this point, every time prior to these rainy days have had these really hazy spells as the front approached. The forecast is calling for 35 to 45 mm of rain which is a lot. Hopefully there are no hitches with the bus trip tomorrow and that my room in Opatija is close to the bus terminal. The following day is calling for rain but not all that much, and then it is clear sailing for the remainder of my days on this trip. Unless things change, that is.

My second room just around the corner from the other. I can actually see the Roman gate from my window. That stone wall is original.
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
An Artsy photo of the amphitheatre.
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near the town centre is a huge outdoor market with various foods, drinks and crafts.
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Over the hill and about a 30 min walk is a series of these pebbly beaches.
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Over the hill and about a 30 min walk is a series of these pebbly beaches.
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Over the hill and about a 30 min walk is a series of these pebbly beaches.
- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Over the hill and about a 30 min walk is a series of these pebbly beaches.- Pula, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0