When it started getting insane.. - It keeps getting (insanely) better and challenging - CycleBlaze

September 25, 2024

When it started getting insane..

I did some cleanup at the temple and hit the road by 7 a.m. About 15-20 minutes later, I pulled into a car wash station to drench myself in water and was dry again in minutes. Within an hour, I stopped at a roadside eatery for fresh rotis and omelets before getting back on the road.

Insane but insane..
Heart 1 Comment 0

The heat and today's sudden elevation gain took a toll on me. I pulled over whenever I thought I could find a spot to lie down and take a nap. A few motorcyclists stopped to check on me. Since Mistergordo doesn’t have a stand, I would lay him on the ground, which made people think I had fallen off the bicycle.

Heart 1 Comment 0

At one point, I saw a van selling watermelons—I’m a sucker for fruits—so I stopped to buy one. After hearing my story, the guys refused to take any money. I insisted I wanted a whole watermelon, not just a slice, and they should take the money. Still, they wouldn’t accept.

I spent the night on the veranda of a bamboo house like-so..
Heart 1 Comment 0

By the time I reached Hijo, the sun had set, and a torrential downpour forced me to seek shelter. I was about to pitch my tent at a bus stop under construction when a local invited me to stay at his place. Since he lived up in the mountains, he suggested I camp at his friend’s nearby house instead. The friend wasn’t home, so I set up my tent and hit the sack by 6 p.m., my earliest on this trip.

Mountains..ah.. mountains
Heart 2 Comment 0

Looking at my stats, I understood why I was so exhausted: a 5,300-foot elevation gain over just 30 miles.

Remnants of a landslide..
Heart 2 Comment 0

No wonder I kept thinking of the Ruta de la Muerte in Colombia. This road had seen landslides that fortunately had been cleared and I was glad I had Mistergordo..

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 451 km (280 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0