When god opens a door.. - It keeps getting (insanely) better and challenging - CycleBlaze

September 24, 2024

When god opens a door..

Saying goodbye to new "friends"
Heart 1 Comment 0

I woke up early, packed my bike, and hit the road by 7 a.m., fueled by some hot chai from my “friends.”

The heat cranked up fast. I found myself stopping at car-washing stations, soaking myself only to dry off in minutes, repeating the process over and over. Eventually, I upgraded to gas station washrooms for water refills and shade, dousing myself in their washrooms.

Potable water stations at Petrol pumps.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Gas stations have been my lifesaver. I avoid bottled water (thanks to the whole “greenwashing” thing) and instead rely on their filtered, ice-cold water—no chlorine pills needed. My microbiologist dad would probably "disown" me, given our boiled-water-only rule at home, but luckily, my "westernized" gut has handled it like a champ.

Hints of mountains I would need to climb..
Heart 0 Comment 0

Despite the heat, today’s ride was a blast as I rode past tea gardens and starting seeing mountains. 

Mistergordo resting inside a tea garden..
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tea being picked..
Heart 1 Comment 0
These kids came running to check on the bike..
Heart 1 Comment 0

And, met more “strangers” curious about my journey, offering fruit, water, and even shelter. One goodbye was tough when that family told me I reminded them of a loved one they had recently lost.

Mistergordo was Happy to see so many of his "clan"..
Heart 1 Comment 0

As night fell, I was eager to use my new BioLite Headlamp 325. To my dismay, it died within 15 minutes, fully charged. My backup Blackburn clip-on wasn’t much help either, so I resorted to my final option: a Facebook buy-nothing bike headlamp/horn combo. It got me to my destination, but not before I hit a pothole and nearly thought I broke my knuckles. (Side note: I’m night-blind, which is why I carry so many headlamps.)

Another beautiful sunset..
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived safely at 8:30 p.m., taught my Kannada class online sitting outside a closed storefront, then began searching for a place to rest. Motels were too pricey for a few hours of sleep. At 10 p.m., I walked to a nearby police station, and they directed me to a temple next door.

Knowing I was "unclean" from the road, I asked the priest if I could sleep on the steps outside. To my surprise, he insisted I stay inside, saying, “Temples are for the tired and those in need.” He even offered me fruit and food. Truly, God opens doors..

Today's ride: 88 km (55 miles)
Total: 403 km (250 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kathleen JonesWhat a day, what an ending.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago