I wanna grow-up once again.. - It keeps getting (insanely) better and challenging - CycleBlaze

September 26, 2024

I wanna grow-up once again..

I woke up early at 4:30 a.m. after getting up several times during the night to check on Mistergordo, who was down by the main road while I slept on a small hillock.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I hit the road by 5:50 a.m., making rest stops along the way, searching for some warm food since I hadn’t eaten dinner the previous day. Lunch that day had been just a watermelon.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I finally found a place to eat and quickly devoured 4 hot rotis, 4 omelets, and 2 cups of hot chai. Despite the light drizzle, I hit the road again, knowing I had more hills and mountains to climb.

Heart 1 Comment 0

The views were breathtaking. I found myself singing "Bachpan Toh Gaya, Jawaani Bhi Gayi" from the Bollywood movie 3 Idiots, a song about finally living your dreams after spending childhood, youth, and adulthood following society’s rules.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Along the way, I met more 'strangers' who offered me hot tea and fruits. As a thank-you, I always made sure to buy something from them. Many stopped to ask about my bike—curious about the unusually large tires and how I charged it. I’d joke that rotis and omelets usually 'fuel' it.

Heart 2 Comment 0

The bike and tires were perfect for the terrain, and I kept thinking of the mountains in Colombia and Ecuador.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally, I reached my destination, pitched my tent, and took a cold shower, even though I was already shivering from sweat. After freshening up, I wandered into the village in search of food, but I already felt empty, with nothing challenging to look forward to the next day...

Today's ride: 61 km (38 miles)
Total: 512 km (318 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0