Flying MisterGordo domestically - It keeps getting (insanely) better and challenging - CycleBlaze

September 1, 2024 to September 19, 2024

Flying MisterGordo domestically

After countless monsoon-related delays, I finally hit the air and road for my Northeast adventure. The "altered" plan involved flying to Guwahati, India and then explore this unique part of India with the help of Mistergordo.

Práctice ride to the Yellurghad fort..
Heart 1 Comment 0

Due to the delays, I was unsure about my training. Mistergordo sat fully loaded because the original plan was to ride from my base in South India. So, I ended up riding into neigboring villages to get some training rides in. Then, I forced myself to participate in an 75k ultramarathon where I mostly walked..

A scene of the last (?) mile of the ultra..
Heart 0 Comment 0

Because the altered plan still involved exploring the Northeast of India on bike and foot, I had also packed my hiking gear. I wanted to explore the foothills and the Himalayas while there..

Logistics and Expenses:

Flight: Belgaum to Guwahati via Delhi. Indigo allows 15 kg, but I purchased an additional 10 kg and paid another Rs. 1500 for sports equipment. I ended up paying an additional Rs. 1200 at Belgaum airport because my bike box was overweight.

Bike Box: A fat bike box from Gearheads in Belgaum. Price? TBD.

Duck tape: Rs. 225 (75 x 3). 

Taxi: Rs. 950 to haul the bike to the airport.

So how and what I packed for this tríp where duration was unknown.

Personal belongings before packing
Heart 2 Comment 0

Carry-On luggage:

Decathlon 50L backpack,

Microsoft Surface,

Camelbak-3l, 

Down sleeping bag in its comprensión sack that was then put in a large plastic  bag.

Rain pants, 

Quick-dry light-weight Goodwill pants,

Fabindia green kurta,

Khaadi kerchief.

RAGNAR balaclava

The NorthFace/free winter gloves

Cycling gear included a pair of padded short, leggings, gloves, balaclava, and pink socks ( Ipiales, Colombia).

First aid kit (minus the tweezer, as it was confiscated at the airport).

Food bag + Kardant 500g, 

Steel mug for coffee/tea, 

Aluminum water bottle, 

Bar soap in a soap-case,

Bamboo brushes (3 fresh ones), 

Foldable shopping bag, 

Reflector vest.

Backpack’s "Brain" had the following:

Bike lights, 

Shravan’s power bank, 

LifeStraw, 

Tissue roll +, hand sanitizer, 

Cable pouch with chargers and second set of wired headphones.

Mistergordo made it safely to Guwahati..
Heart 1 Comment 0

Bike Box: ( Check-in luggage)

Mister Gordo (the bike) with front wheel, seat, and pedals removed. I forgot to remove the bell with compas. Oops.

Spare tube, frame bag, handlebar bag, and tent.

Jesus hand-stiched bag with chain lube, mirror, phone holder.

 Helmet.

Saddlebag filled with all the odds and ends: bottle holders, toothpaste, shaving razors, bike tools, folding knife, and spork. 

Should've secured the wheels to the frame...didn’t. Totaled to a final weight of 28 kg of adventure at the airport.

Salomon's S-Lab water shoes.

On the person:

Nike fleece pant

Long sleeved, hooded shirt ( Rainforest)

Khaadi kerchief.

REI fall hiking socks.

Decathlon MH100 trekking shoes.

Outdoor Research cap.

Moderna fanny pack with my essentials: Pixel 4a phone, Garmin Instinct was worn.

Passport? Left behind because I’m sticking to India this time. Sorry, Nepal, maybe next trip.

Today's ride: 100 km (62 miles)
Total: 100 km (62 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0