Delayed start - day 1 - It keeps getting (insanely) better and challenging - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2024

Delayed start - day 1

I arrived in Guwahati well past midnight on my first visit there. My Warmshowers host, Bulbul, turned out to be a long-lost brother. He not only found a neighbor with a taxi but also helped rig a way to strap my boxed bike to the car. We stopped for a late-night meal at a roadside dhaba. I ended up staying with Bulbul for a few days as we had a lot to catch up on, feeling like true long-lost brothers.

I also delayed starting my ride because of the unbearable heat and humidity. Even with fans on and being indoors, we were drinking 10-15 liters of water daily just to cope.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After trying to tolerate the conditions for a few days, I finally decided to hit the road. I started at around 7 am, but it was already scorching hot and humid. Riding through 38-degree heat and high humidity took its toll, but I pushed on, taking breaks here and there to recover.

Heart 0 Comment 0

By midday, it became impossible to continue riding, so I took a long brunch break, devouring four rotis, four omelets, and plenty of masala chai at a roadside stall run by a Nepali-Indian family. We ended up chatting for about 90 minutes as I was trying to remember and práctice my Nepalí..

Heart 2 Comment 1
Mark M.Love the backpacking gear, looks like a great setup 👍
Reply to this comment
1 week ago

During the hottest part of the day, I found shelter under the shade of trees to escape the intense sun.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Most of the day was flat except for a few hills I had to climb to leave Guwahati, gaining around 1300 feet of elevation. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

At one point, I was extremely thirsty and overheated, so I asked a stranger for water. They generously gave me liters of ice-cold water and even fanned me with a traditional palm-leaf hand fan. They offered me food as well, but I had to decline because I was in a rush to conduct an online class.

Despite drinking 6-8 liters of water throughout the day, I didn’t relieve myself until around 6 pm...

Today's ride: 114 km (71 miles)
Total: 214 km (133 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0