Purnagad to Vijaydurg - Mumbai to Goa - CycleBlaze

January 13, 2024

Purnagad to Vijaydurg

Early start on a quiet NH4 and I watched thd sun rise as I crossed the Puragad bridge.  

It had been a bit of a noisy start to the night with a local wedding party nearby but a short power cut stopped their fun.  When the electricity came back on there was a flash at the control box in my room, more obvious as the room was in dark, but everything seemed ok afterwards.  I am charging a battery bank and using that to charge my phone, just in case.

I took a smaller road to Nate through beautiful villages and past a stone quarry where the stone was cut to size direct from the quarry walls.  This stone is used in nearly all house and for field walls.

Stone block quarry
Heart 3 Comment 0

After rejoining the main road it took me further inland than I really wanted to go as it kept to higher more level land.  Route NH4 was also shut for a section so I had to loop even further East before I could rejoin it,   This was on a smaller road with massive banyan trees to shelter under.   

Banyan tree shade
Heart 2 Comment 0

In places BH4 was very rough.

NH4 roadworks
Heart 2 Comment 0

I decided to head North to Vijaydurg but all the tourist accommodation there was full as there is a sea swimming competition tomorrow.  The fort is another mud pie type with a small sea port.

Vijaydurg fort
Heart 2 Comment 2
Spencer StinchcombeLooks and sounds like you re having a great Adventure. I'm enjoying reading about it. It's got to be said a little bit jealous.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andy BuchanTo Spencer StinchcombeI have missed out on a lot: the daily clothes washing: the blaring TV until 1am last night: the lizard in the toilet…..
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I found a room at the MTDC Guest house a mile back up the road so a few more miles were done heading back for food,  A long day but no heatstroke problems.

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 362 miles (583 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Leslie HarrisYour mileage is very consistent Andy. I guess you are more or less able to follow your plan. The scenery and sights look wonderful. I’m quite envious.

Good luck for the rest of your journey.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltIronic
NH4 is scientific notation for ammonium...
Reply to this comment
4 months ago