To Waterton Lakes, AB - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2024

To Waterton Lakes, AB

Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't sleep well last night, for thinking of the climb today. 3,700 feet in 38 miles. Jacinto slept like a baby, happy to think of all of the standing up riding he would do. Last night he decided that we've eaten down the food stocks too far and that he should buy a jar of peanut butter to supplement. You go, Jacinto! 

This morning I made the executive decision that I needed a hot meal before starting out. Jacinto only had one eye open when we walked across to the restaurant. He drank several cups of coffee while I ate most of an omelet. He ordered a slice of ham to eat. We took my English muffin, leftover omelet, and the ham and made him a sandwich to eat when he woke up all the way.

I was out the door by 9 AM. Wind and rain didn't appear to be an issue today. It was 43 degrees when I left. There was a four mile warm up, then a left hand turn and a five mile climb. The first 1-2 miles were fairly stiff (5%?), then it leveled off some. The rest of the climbing for the day was similar. A steep pitch, then backing off, easier climbing, some downhill/level, and repeat. It ended up being about as easy of a climbing day as a cyclist could ask for, with lots of breaks and downhills. Not to mention the vistas! Could there be a more scenic day? Jacinto said the Going to the Sun Road was prettier. 

I had to give that a thought. The GTTSR was probably prettier, but I was suffering more with the steep climb, so only looked around when I was stopped. This was easier climbing, so easier to look around and enjoy more. Talking of pretty rides, I have to add the ride through Monument Valley. Jacinto laughed at me and said it's an entirely different type of pretty, with red rocks and sand. There's definitely no snow there in June!

According to my computer, the high point today was 5,500 feet. There was snow in the trees on both sides. There was also significant moisture on the road, making me think that it had rained this morning. It seemed to be too wet to be snow melted from yesterday. Jacinto and I both had spitting rain after the border, but that was all.

I saw a bear crossing the road, just after cresting the first big climb, at mile 9.6 of the day. I stopped and got out my camera, but of course I was too late. Later in the day, a deer stopped in the middle of the road, looking at me, wondering what in the world. A big SUV was driving, driving towards the deer. I was mentally encouraging the deer to make a good choice, and continue forwards. Ultimately it did, but I was afraid there would be blood shed.

I was concerned about being really slow with all of the climbing today. The temperatures weren't too warm. I kept a Buff pulled up most of the day, to keep my chin and ears warm. I was warm enough as long as I kept moving. 

When I got to the border, I saw a couple entering the USA. I crossed to say hello, but they were busy getting out their passports and going inside. I went back and got in the Canada line. It took 15-20 minutes. I was behind three RV's. It took quite a while for them exit. I took about 30 seconds. She asked me if I had gifts to give away, guns or weapons, or alcohol. No to those questions. She also asked how many days I would be there, and if I had reservations. Jacinto said all he was asked is if he had weapons or alcohol, and where did he live in the USA. 

About the time I crossed the border, I decided the climbing wasn't going to be too tough, and even if I did get rained on, it wouldn't be too bad. This was more than a tolerable day, as a fact it was a grand day. Look at this scenery! How lucky are we?

It wasn't long before I was entering Waterton Park. The ranger at the gate said they don't get many cyclists and she hadn't had any at all today. That surprised me. Isn't this on both the Northern Tier and the TransAm?  There was a bicycle path into town. It had some steep up and down pitches. At this point, my legs were done with the day. I walked to the crest of several of the steep climbs. I do believe on the return, I will stay on the roadway. It looked leveler. I saw two different groups of e bike riders on the bike path. There was a sign posted in several areas saying $80. for a half day, or $120. for a whole day of e bike rentals. 

I was ready to get to town, but how could I make any progress, with this scenery? I stopped 4-5 times to take photos. I was happy to arrive at our lodging, Bear Mountain Motel. Jimmy, the owner, offered to wash our laundry, and gave me a basket to fill. Jacinto doesn't have a stitch of clothes, except for his rain coat! I have a pair of tights that haven't been worn yet, and a shirt that I don't trust to industrial machines. 

I don't think I've mentioned that I bought a pair of Pendleton wool socks at Lake McDonald. They had all sorts of socks there, but only two were wool socks. A low top, and a crew sock. Neither were thick. I went with the crew style. I'm amazed how warm they are, given their thinness. I'd say as warm as my  thick Darn Tough socks that I forgot at home. Those didn't go in the laundry either - I don't want them shrunk to child size!

Jimmy said all of the places to eat here are good, if you can afford them. There are four restaurants close to the motel, an Italian place is directly adjacent. We are going nowhere until we have clothes!

We are here for a prescheduled layover day. Look at us - rest a day, ride a day, rest a day. We had better not get used to that touring style, we wouldn't make any progress! 

Blue sky for departure!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tell it like it is.
Heart 0 Comment 0
No snow here today. There was up just a little higher.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wild roses in Alberta.
Heart 0 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltSticky purple geranium

https://montana.plant-life.org/cgi-bin/species03.cgi?Geraniaceae_Geraniumviscosissimum
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezNot Alberta wild roses? I’m confused! I could see wide swaths of these plants along the roadsides. We bave wild roses also in Colorado, so I thought I knew what I was looking at. They will be amazing in full bloom. Right now there are only flowers here and there.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltNow I’m reading the info. They are food and medicine!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Kelly IniguezEmergency food, but not choice by any means... except maybe the flowers.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
I like snow way over there.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Janice BranhamYour bike sure gets a lot of beauty shots
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezI had someone comment once that my bike must be the most photographed bike on the planet! I was told that a person should always be in the photo to make it more interesting - since I seldom ride with another person, my bike has to substitute. Plus, I just like looking at bike set ups, so I try to return the favor!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
I culled down the scenery photos today. It was difficult.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Canada!
Heart 3 Comment 0
This Swiss couple is ultimately headed to Washington DC. They were about our age.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Lyle McLeodThat’s Christa and Martin. They stayed within us (Warmshowers) for two nights last week at the start of their trip. Super nice couple! Small world.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
One last scenery shot.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There was a five mile long bike path into Waterton. It had some steep pitches that I walked. Enough was enough.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Prince of Wales Hotel.
Heart 5 Comment 4
Wayne EstesI vividly remember a breakfast buffet there way back in 1989.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Wayne EstesI will look and see if they still have it. We just had dinner downtown. We shared a salad, I ordered meat loaf, Jacinto had pot roast. No drinks or dessert. $101. CAD, which is $72. USD.

Then we went to a candy store. Cash only. Pre wrapped fudge was marked $11.95. We bought two turtles. Jacinto paid. I wasn't watching. $23. for two turtles. If I'd known that, I wouldn't have gotten them! I am going to eat it one slow bite at a time!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Wayne EstesEverything is more expensive in Canada, and then there is a big premium for being at a top tier National Park. More expensive than the park lodge at Glacier?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Wayne EstesThe American dollar is strong in Canada. I have to remind myself of that. Our room in Waterton was bigger, the bathroom, especially the shower, was as microscopic as Lake McDonald. Waterton ended up being cheaper. By the time they added the taxes on at Lake McDonald, it was over $300. a night.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Our room for two nights at Bear Mountain Motel.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 630 miles (1,014 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Amber StarfireSounds like a great day. Enjoy your rest!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jacquie GaudetAs far as I know, all of the ACA routes are within the USA except the Great Divide Mountain Bike Roite and the Great Parks route (which I wasn’t aware of until I was checking my facts today). The Great Parks route goes through Waterton and I might do it someday, now that I know about it. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Jacquie GaudetWe have cycled bits and pieces of the Great Parks route over the years. That would be a good ride. Perhaps in the fall when the summer traffic has quit.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago