To Stanley, ID - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2024

To Stanley, ID

Heart 0 Comment 0

Let's cut to the chase. That's a big ass climb today. I'm wupped. So wupped that I've asked Jacinto if we could have a day off tomorrow. I'm not sure I have it in me to coast 57 miles downhill to Challis. He was horrified. He offered to make the drive a two day drive. I'm not worried about driving. I'm worried about pedaling the bike. Actually, I don't think it's a choice to stay another night. I think the motel is booked. 

Shall we go back to the beginning of the day? I was out the door at 7:30. All was quiet. The restaurant was supposed to open at 8, but I didn't see any cars in the business area. Maybe the employees park somewhere else.

It was 60 degrees, but felt very nippy. I expected to warm up shortly, with the climb. The road meandered along nicely for about ten miles. That was a good warm up. I appreciated it. Today was basically one long uphill - a 21 mile uphill! It makes me tired just reading that. I did very well. I never used my lowest gear, and only used the next lowest for short distances. Translation is that the grade was never terrible, there was just plenty of it. There were also some slight downgrades sprinkled in there. While I appreciated the breaks, I didn't want to have to gain that elevation back! 

I thought this might be our highest elevation of the trip, but checking the big map, Chief Jospeh Pass wins out by ~150 feet. I felt better at the top of that one. Perhaps because we hadn't been riding for seven weeks at that point. Jacinto's opinion is that our legs should be of steel now, after all of this riding.

I kept plugging along. I did implement the stop once a mile rule on some steeper sections, but only did that twice. I passed a truck pulling a trailer pulled over to the side a couple of times. Then it would pass me, very slowly, with it's flashers on. Maybe their engine was overheating? I passed them for the last time a mile from the top. I debated stopping and telling them that there was only a mile to go, they could make it. But I didn't. I thought for sure they would pass me at some point. After the top it was 25 more miles to town. I never saw them again.

This summit had a sign and a potty. What more could I want? There was also a picnic table in the shade that I looked at longingly. I had done a good job getting to the top, but I did not trust my legs if I sat down for any amount of time at all. I had an average of 5.6 mph at the top, which was over my goal of 5.0 mph. It took me three hours 45 minutes riding time to the top, not counting stops. I was happy with those numbers. I did have serious doubts if I had it in me to ride the 25 miles to town. It was only 800 feet of descent in the entire 25 miles.  I'm happy to report that was sufficient down grade for me to make it to town. I did well. But am I TIRED! My legs are toast.

I stopped at the gas station, hoping for a V-8. None. I got a Bali water, which I've never had before. It was okay. I don't like flavored water. I didn't realize it at the time, but the grocery was right next door. As I was checking out, the clerk was talking to the man in front of me about the fire. He said the fire was right over the ridge, that it is zero percent contained, they just can't get a handle on it. His talk was much more dire than the two mountain bikers yesterday. They said that all resources were being thrown at the fire, because it was so close to Stanley. They even had a plane that could scoop water and dump it on the fire. Who knows more about the fire? Two men from Boise, or the clerk at the gas station in Stanley? I did see notices on every public door I entered for a town hall meeting tonight to discuss the fire.

In the meanwhile, I went to the motel. I had called last night and asked for a 1 PM check in. It was now 2 PM. this check in girl was having nothing to do with an early check in. 4 PM was the time. It didn't matter I had called last night. I set up camp in the lobby. There was all sorts of interesting action. A woman came in to confirm four cabins. One person in her party had been charged $2,500., and the others less than $900. That didn't get sorted out. Someone higher up would have to call her. A man came to check in, and he got in his room! What the heck. I will say that she did go tell the cleaning staff to do mine next. But I thought things would move faster.

The most interesting story was a man who worked at the restaurant said he had parked in his usual spot 'over there', and when he came out his car was gone! He's very sure it was gone. They walked outside together - I guess to confirm it wasn't hiding in the bushes? Gone. A gray Subaru Crosstrek. He said he had locked the doors, had the keys with him, and was current on payments and it wouldn't get towed. I would never think to clarify that last one. She ended up calling the boss, who said that they did not tow any cars. The man's next step was to call the police. It appears his car might have been stolen? I will never know the end of the story.

Finally two other employees walked inside, talking about all of the rooms that were done. Mine was included! Hurray! I was past hungry. Jacinto showed up about ten minutes before, and he was sitting outside eating peanuts and a drink. We walked over to our room. No AC again tonight and no fan either. Jacinto wanted to open the window to let the cool air in, but I don't want to let the smoke in. Let's see what we do for the night.  We got downgraded to a standard room from the deluxe when we made our routing change at the end of May. This room is just fine, except the deluxe rooms have AC.

I was crazy worn out, and hungry. I got in the room, and that was about all I had. OK - I'm going to confess here. Truth is told among friends, correct? I have never ever done this in my entire life - but it shows my state of mind. I went to put my prized V-8 juices in the fridge, and I saw someone's leftovers inside. The cleaning people hadn't gotten it. They were in fancy little take out boxes, not the styrofoam ones. Does that make it any better that I ate someone else's leftovers? Jacinto laughed at me. One of the leftovers was chicken wings. Jacinto's favorite. Did he eat those? No, he did not. His standards apparently include five day old green chicken, but not someone else's refrigerated chicken. The leftovers I ate were some sort of salad with raspberries in it, and a slice of steak. I can't believe I did that, and I can't believe I admitted it to you!

I really really needed a shower. I knew a shower would make me feel better. Could I get that far? No, I could not. I laid down on the floor and put my legs up the wall. Only then did I manage to shower. I got straight on the bed from there to take a nap. I didn't feel like I slept, but I did hear Jacinto snoring! See, even he was tired.

We went to dinner at the adjoining restaurant and had an excellent meal. I'm so happy to get a good meal. Jacinto ordered ANOTHER hamburger. We had nachos for a started and they were so big, that was all we really needed. I ordered a pork chop. It came with an entire baked apple, mashed potatoes, and asparagus. The nachos were so filling, I could eat only a few bites. The waiter reminded me of our son, and I gave him a huge tip. Jacinto about choked. I told Jacinto it feels like the last day of our trip, even though we have one day left. I was so happy to get a good meal, and the waiter did an excellent job. He's one of those servers who can balance plates all up and down his arm. I've always admired that. 

Now we are back in the room. It's 7:30 PM and I'm ready for bed. On one hand, I had a good day, and feel like I rode strong. But, I'm also totally done in. It's a very, very good thing we don't have a climbing day tomorrow. 

Jacinto says we can sleep in and leave late, give my legs more time to recover. I told him maybe we should get out of Dodge while we can. We are going away from the fire, maybe we should do it while the road is open. It's good we aren't headed towards Ketchum - that road runs alongside the closed area because of the fire. The further we get out of Stanley, the further we get from the fire.

My view leaving the lodge this morning.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Smoky skies make for mysterious photos.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This gave me a reason to smile on the climb. I don’t find much to smile about on 21 mile climbs!
Heart 2 Comment 2
Keith AdamsFront wheel is up- you've got groceries in the panniers, hey?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezTo Keith AdamsEagle eye!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
See the old burn area?
Heart 1 Comment 0
My reward at the top. I’ve been carrying that salted nut roll for a couple of days now. Jeff is correct. They get soft in the sun. It’s a little tricky to try and scrape the Caramel off of the wrapper with my teeth while riding.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Delicate little flowers at the base of the summit sign. Bill identifies these as a white mariposa lily.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMariposa lily

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calochortus_eurycarpus
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
A bonus summit. Jacinto didn’t even bother taking a photo. He said we didn’t earn it, we were on the downhill. I will take any sign they give me!
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Sawtooths were obscured with the smoke.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jacinto’s fire photo.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is the best Sinclair dinosaur I’ve photographed!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto arrived while I was waiting to get in the room.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 1,573 miles (2,531 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kathleen Jones21 miles up! My legs are tired just reading that. Chapeau!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff Lee"The leftovers I ate were some sort of salad with raspberries in it, and a slice of steak. I can't believe I did that, and I can't believe I admitted it to you!"

Bike Touring Rules applied here. They are different than the rules of regular life ;)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezTo Jeff LeeThank you for the grace and understanding. I definitely did not include the leftovers story when I was giving my daughter the recap of our day. I’m quite sure I won’t tell anyone outside of the Cycle Blaze circle - cyclists are most likely to understand that particular version of hangry.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rich FrasierYour leftover secrets are safe with us. That was a huge day of riding. Congratulations! I think you're stronger than you realize.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago