To Santa, ID - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2024

To Santa, ID

Heart 0 Comment 0

Tell me why breakfast isn't served until 9 AM if 90% of the clientele is bicycle riders? Everyone was lined up downstairs by 8:30, waiting. Breakfast was fine, not wonderful. Scrambled eggs with ham and a baked french toast dish with fresh blueberries. It was served buffet style. I told Jacinto he had better hurry and get downstairs if he wanted to eat.

I already had my gear on the bike and was dressed to go. I was concerned about overheating on the climb later in the day. 

First I rode nine miles on the Coeur d'Alene bike path. It's paved with occasional bumps from tree roots. There was a fair amount of traffic. Jacinto saw a young man riding from Missoula to Seattle. He had camped last night before town. He saw a moose near his campsite! 

I saw lots of E bikers and a couple of roadies. The nine miles went quickly. There was a short jog through a park, which RWGPS shows as dirt, but it's paved. Then we were on Highway 5. I was wondering about the post holiday traffic. I did have a few vehicles pass me that were pulling toys. Traffic in general didn't seem heavy.

We had two major climbs today. The first one had a name, Parker Pass. That was ironic, because it was by far the smaller climb, but it was steeper. There wasn't a sign. By the time I hit the second climb, I was indeed hot. It was after Saint Maires (which is pronounced Mary's). There had been road construction on the main road in town. It was all torn up. I rode on the sidewalk, to be more considerate to the cars behind me, but also because the sidewalk was smoother! I should have stopped for a cold drink, but I was very focused on riding. I had plenty of water, why did I need ice? This was the first day the entire trip that I wanted ice. Temperatures topped out about 85 degrees, but it's been so cold, 85 seemed hot. I suffered from my slow pace on the second climb. I was totally in the sun, and going too slowly to create a breeze. I ate a total of three Perpeteum tablets and all of the sweet cherries I had. I've been eating cherries for three days. They are just right for on the bike - sweet and juicy.

I had smooth, new pavement on both climbs. Both downhills had old pavement, but not too bad. I was ready to be there.

I was just reaching the town of Santa when Jacinto appeared in my rear view mirror. He had stopped for a cold drink and ice in his water. I drank and drank his cold water. We took the turn together, which was uphill on dirt. Thankfully it leveled off onto a well backed dirt road. That lasted exactly one mile, then there was fresh gravel for the remainder of Renfro Road. I texted our airbnb host from the corner, and there they appeared, just seconds later! They were taking the kids to play in the river. We continued on. This road was steep and rough. I quickly decided walking was easier. Jacinto rode until he got to the main house, and he wasn't sure where our camp trailer was located.

This place is cute as a bug's ear. The outside shower has plenty of hot water, heated by propane. Jacinto said that's just what they need in Mexico. They are self sustainable here, and also offer a menu of farm to table food they will cook.  I ordered two meals, and a salad to share.  That is what we usually get, but their portions were huge. We could have shared either the nachos or the chicken dinner. Who would think you'd get eight chicken legs with one dinner? Even if they charge us for two dinners, that's a lot of chicken.

Soon our dessert of homemade ice cream and apple fritters arrived. I feel like a stuffed little piglet. 

More info than you want, but I've been drinking water steadily all afternoon and have yet to visit the composting commode. More water!

Happy 4th of July!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Crossing the famous Chatcolet Bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Scott AndersonI love that bridge!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Leftover Halloween decorations?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Read the sign over the door.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto caught up with me right before the turn to Santa.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto stopped to wait for instructions on just which driveway. Then it was too steep to get started again.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Home sweet home.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Inside is compact.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A bicyclist shower, washing clothes at the same time. This time I’m outside in the propane heated shower. It was mighty fine. I might not have the same opinion on a cold day!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jacinto practiced axe throwing.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo of the Chatcolet Bridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We relaxed in the shade in the woods.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dinner was delivered to our camper. We order WAY too much food.
Heart 2 Comment 1
I’m eating from the big pan, just like Jacinto!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I moved my bike up under the covered deck for the night in case of rain. Jacinto’s bike had to fare for itself outside.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'm having trouble with photos and the map both. They will have to wait until tomorrow.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 1,155 miles (1,859 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Gregory GarceauNine o'clock is crazy. No matter who the clientele is, I've never seen a U.S. motel or hotel that began serving breakfast later than 6:00 a.m. I always check out the runny scrambled eggs/weird cheese omelets/ridiculously thin bacon/mushy sausage patties, etc., but they just don't look appetizing. I usually settle for coffee and apple juice.

With the cute trailer and its kitchen, axe throwing, and such a massive feast, I must say your accommodations on this night are exceptional.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
George HallI sometimes skip the hotel breakfast even when they serve at 6:30, cause I'm usually on the road much earlier. So I always have instant oatmeal packets with me to give me something to power me down the road to "second breakfast." A 9:00 am breakfast time is just plain silly, I suspect a lot of folks leave before breakfast.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kelly IniguezTo George HallI wondered if they offered a late breakfast to encourage people to take the sack breakfast. There was a tandem parked in the garage that I never saw the owners. I suspect they went for the to go version. I did much better today, leaving early. Ironic that early is now 7 AM, when previously 7 would be normal time and daylight would be early. I plan to be out earlier on our big climbing days.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago