To Salmo, BC - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2024

To Salmo, BC

Heart 0 Comment 0

I rolled over multiple times this morning. Perhaps we need a long day or two, for an activity. Jacinto was complaining just a little last night about the short mileage days. Soon enough we will be in Idaho, riding White Bird Summit. Then we'll see how much sweat he drips on his phone. That's his current measure of a good day. I asked him how many days that's happened this trip. Not enough, he says. But he did qualify that with the statement we had a few windy days that dried his sweat before it had a chance to drip. I have a visual going on that - perhaps you don't appreciate the detail. Sorry!

We finally got up and moving. I was out the door first, as usual. I was feeling smug last night for picking the motel at the top of the hill. Mentally, I had already done the climbing. Yea, that wasn't quite the truth. We had a big climb to start - over 1,000 feet in five miles. It was a dozy. My legs prefer an easier start to the day. I stopped twice during the five miles. Mostly, there were two steeper pitches, and longer extended climbing at 4-5%, according to my computer. I was happy to get to the top. After that, it was basically all down hill all the way to Salmo. Extended downhills are a favorite of mine.

Jacinto had asked why we didn't combine today and tomorrow. That would have give us a 64 mile day and over 4,000 feet of climbing. Doable, but not fun. 

Today is Saturday of the Canada Day weekend. I was expecting heavy traffic, with people going to the mountains. No. Traffic was notably light. Perhaps everyone was already where they wanted to be? We had a nice shoulder on a recently paved road. Happy, happy.

Of course, I enjoyed the extended downhill to town. I saw 6-8 day riders. Only the last two acknowledged my happy ding, ding bell. Heck.

I had one pickup truck with three golden retrievers in the back give me an extended toot, toot, as they passed. That was a friendly counter the unfriendly bike riders.

I stopped and called Jacinto as I entered town. He was only three miles behind me. I tried to negotiate eating now instead of later. Jacinto vastly prefers a shower before eating. Plus, he wasn't hungry. I have to admit, I wasn't hungry either, at that exact moment. But I know as soon as I shower, I will be ravenous. That's the way it works - short day, or long day, I want to eat after I shower. We end up agreeing he will meet me at Subway. I pull on in, and see a bike rider seated at the picnic area outside. He is on his phone, neither of us say anything. When I came back out, he looked up, I said a cherry, "Hello!", clearly inviting conversation. Nothing, no response at all. Okay then. I sit down and start eating. Ten minutes later (no conversation at all), Jacinto pulls up. The cyclists perks up - asks Jacinto the usual questions. Jacinto points at me, says I'm his wife and we are traveling together. Only then does the man acknowledge my existence. We have a nice conversation. He has driven over from Nelson, for a mountain bike ride. When he got back to his car, he did not have a car key. He did have a hole in his jersey pocket. He had called his wife for a rescue. She showed up shortly after.

So - here's the question - why did he totally ignore me, but engage with Jacinto? Jacinto had barely pulled up with the cyclist initiated conversation. Jacinto thought it was an El Señor thing (sexist). I think it's a bicycle prejudice thing - some people just can't wrap their minds around a recumbent bike. Whatever the reason, once Jacinto was there, we had a good conversation. The cyclist had asked our route. He presumed that we had gone up to Crawford Bay and around because we didn't want to ride Kootenay Pass on Highway 3. I didn't even know it existed. We went up Crawford Bay because we hadn't been there before. I would think by the time you detour all the way up there, and back down, you'd have about the same climbing as on a pass, and a bunch more distance.

Jacinto drank the soda I bought him, but didn't eat the sandwich I saved. He said he wanted peanut butter with both an apple and a banana, to lighten his load.

We bicycled the mile to our motel. We've stayed there before. Once I saw all of the painted rocks lining the driveway, I vaguely remembered it. Jacinto remembers nothing! We used the last of our Canadian dollars paying for the room. We have a little bit left to spend when we RIDE into town later. Do you want to bet me money Jacinto tries to talk me into walking? 

We have two glass bottles to return for $2. Each. Jacinto bought them at the Uphill Market. I thought we were already up the hill, but he said there was more hill and the store was well named. I wasn’t willing to go there on my bike. Jacinto made the detour. He said he panted like a dog, but he made it riding.
Heart 1 Comment 0
He’s not quite ready to leave.
Heart 3 Comment 0
There is no roadside trash in Canada. It’s refreshing. That made these containers all the more obvious. There was oddly spaced coffee cups and bottles all along the climb. I was going slowly enough to observe they were filled with dirt and rocks. Some of them were buried to stay upright. ??? One of life’s little mysteries. Jacinto also noticed them.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flower of the day.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Here is the Salmo Trail. Jacinto talked about taking it, but decided it was too rough.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This bear sign was at the beginning of the trail.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonI definitely stay away from roads with bears where possible!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jacquie GaudetNote the rusty bolt. Some “bear in area” signs are always there.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I need at least one bike photo a day!
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’m sure this isn’t intended as a political sign, but I think it applies.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I totally missed the summit sign, but was happy for the affirmation of my effort.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A whole row of old cars and trucks outside of Salmo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Detailed view includes an old tow truck.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m not sure the purpose of these, besides the beauty.
Heart 2 Comment 0
$28,000. 1980 TransAm. Just in case you are interested.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Lyle McLeodThat’s a serious amount of inflation since 2015!

https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/ltkk2015/i-can-see-for-miles-and-miles-day-20-drumheller-to-cereal-alberta/#20502_2335237_fjpV8s_image
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Texture and design in Salmo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tile art. That takes real talent.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Notice two crows on the roof and one at the curb? Opportunists!
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is the man who lost his car key and had to get rescued. I wish I had my camera out when he had to show his wife the hole in his jersey, complete with wiggling fingers through the hole.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The SalCrest Motel had a variety of large painted rocks.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I like the mural. Even though it’s not a pedal bike.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The SalCrest Motel is very clean and nice, but old motel. It would be day off worthy, except the neighboring restaurant is now closed. It's a mile out of town. We have negotiated a return to town for dinner, by bicycle, not walking.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 939 miles (1,511 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0