To Riggins, ID - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2024

To Riggins, ID

Heart 0 Comment 0

We were in the Pacific Time Zone last night. I told Jacinto we should just ignore that, but he was insistent the we go to bed at the new time. Time zones in Idaho make no sense. Today we are back on Mountain Time.

Today was an easy, payback ride for our hard work yesterday. If it weren't for the heat, I would be sleeping in like Jacinto. I didn't leave as early as I planned, but it was 30 slightly uphill miles to Riggins. I did not realize how pretty the ride would be along the Salmon River. I was slightly dreading Highway 95, but we had new pavement the entire distance, with a nice shoulder. Only a mile or so right before Riggins had old pavement and no shoulder. Right there is where a semi passed Jacinto so closely, he rode his bike right into the weeds. Jacinto said he was happy there were weeds to ride into, and not a drop off to the river. That situation aside, traffic was light all day and passed us in clumps. I'm sure the two construction zones had something to do with that. I hit both of them. When I came up on the first one, it was like Jacinto riding for the ferry in Crawford Bay - I was pedaling madly, hoping the cars would be slow. But they all took off, and the flagger turned the sign to stop just before I got to him. I tried to talk him into letting me go. I said it would be better if I were behind the vehicles rather than in front. He said I had to wait for the pilot car. Then it would go, and I would go, and all of the traffic would go behind me. I pointed out that all of the cars would have to pass me in that scenario. I didn't try too hard to change his mind. Rules are rules. I waited about five minutes until the pilot car came back. Sure enough, she went, then I went. They didn't let the auto traffic go at all, for a long time. The construction zone was two miles, slightly uphill. After about a mile, here came the cars. Sure enough, they all then passed me. There was room, it wasn't a problem, but it seems in most construction zones, bicycles go last. At least it was new pavement on my side. Ben had said yesterday that he had to ride on the rough stuff for miles. I did find that odd, as I observed the auto traffic all driving on the new pavement. Perhaps yesterday they weren't at the same point in their preparation on the dirt section, and had traffic on the dirt.

There were a few short miles, and then another construction zone. This flagger appeared to be older than me, and definitely had far fewer teeth. He also had very wild hair, and beard. I asked if his back didn't hurt, standing still for a 12 hour shift. Oh, yes, it did. They weren't allowed to lean on anything, or squat down. He said the worst is the heat. I can't imagine. That would be horrible. Both the heat and the back pain.

As I rode along, I thought perhaps we should be riding further. This sure was an easy day, and my legs didn't hurt at all from the climb. This morning I declared it such an easy day that I ate only an apple. We had purchased breakfast burritos to eat. I have trouble forcing food down before riding. Today I decided I wasn't forcing anything! It was an easy day. I could stop and have a little picnic beside the road, then continue riding. That wouldn't work on a climbing day, my body would be busy working, and wouldn’t be available to digest. It would work today. All I ate before I left was the apple. I snacked on part of a Quest bar while waiting with the flagger. I never did eat my burrito. Who would think I could ride 30 miles on an apple? It made me think of riding in Spain, and the small breakfasts the hotels offered. I wondered how they could ride on so little food, probably they were wondering how I could ride on so much food!

I was getting close to town, and was hungry, but at this point wanted to eat when I got there. I had a man wave happily as I passed. I returned the wave. A couple of miles down the road, there he was again in a pull out. I stopped and we chatted some. Ronnie said he and his wife used to go to Sturgis, and my bicycle reminded him of those days. We wished each other well, and continued on our ways.

I had several people tell me what a cute, happening town Riggins is. I approached with anticipation. Riggins is a long, skinny town squashed in next to the river. between the edge of town and our cabin, I have to say I didn't see much exciting. We have a day off tomorrow. Perhaps then I will see the enchantment?

Our cabin is directly across from the grocery store. Score one! I had asked our host for an early check in because of the heat. She said no problem, no one had stayed in the cabin last night, we could arrive whatever time we wanted. I don't think there's been one time this entire trip that I've been turned down for an early check in. Not even in Canada, where I've previously found them to be sticklers for the stated policy.

I've done all of my getting to town chores. I've even checked the tires for glass. There was a broken bottle on the roadside close to town. Jacinto rolled in about an hour after I got here. He said the twelve days we went without a day off didn't seem near as long as this seven days. I asked if he thought these riding days were more difficult, or was it just the total accumulation of days that made him ready for a day off. He wasn’t sure of why, but he’s ready. 

I've gotten a jump on my day off by taking a nap! Jacinto walked over to the store. He said the deli is saving a rotisserie chicken for us. There's also a huge selection of beer. Too exciting!

The first part of the canyon was the prettiest.
Heart 3 Comment 0
He stopped for photos in the construction.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I didn’t see this at all. Jacinto said it was at the first construction area.
Heart 2 Comment 0
These rafters were right outside of Riggins.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I rode today through a beautiful gorge alongside the Salmon River. The initial part was most stark. That’s where the road construction was, so I didn’t feel I could stop for photos. The day should be about the canyon. Instead, I have bridges.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Bridge #2.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We had fresh pavement on our side for miles and miles!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Typical scenery on the second half of the day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
More.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I had an admirer turn his truck and trailer around to talk to me. Ronnie is head home to Kamiah, from Missouri. He said the first day he drove over 1,000 miles. Somehow that doesn’t quite work out, numbers wise. But he thought I was quite something, so we will let his mileage story slide.
Heart 4 Comment 0
What a view!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Last bridge of the day.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Traffic was slight enough for an artsy shot n
Heart 4 Comment 0
I think you need a four wheel drive to belong to this gun club.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I carefully looked at all of the photos and chose the cabin with an actual sofa! Wooeee!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 1,364 miles (2,195 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Genny FoxI have mixed memories of riding this route 12 years ago, also in a heat wave. We did the grade into Grangeville in 100 degree heat- you were smart to do it early in the day. We stayed in Grangeville then rode to Riggins the next day. A highlight was the Silver dollar Saloon in Whitebird, where we had lunch and met Sheryl, the bartender and cook, who then became a FarmVille buddie with my dad. The road to Riggins was hot, hot and hot and when we arrived at the RV park where we would camp, I went and sat in the river in my bike clothes for an hour. Good times 😏 I’m glad that your experience was better.
As I remember, the day after Riggins was fantastic and very scenic.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith AdamsI liked my night in Riggins. I lucked into a room at the Riggins Motel, a 1920s-vintange "motor court" with groups of rooms in small multi-unit buildings. A comfortable, welcoming, room with a bit of a rustic feel, a covered front porch, lovely grounds, guest-accessible laundry machine... just charming.

There is (or was? the owner was contemplating selling out and moving to Nepal or some such place) a wonderful little restaurant a couple doors down from the motel. Kate was really a delightful soul. She had an enormous tub of bing cherries from her orchard, and was pleased to hand them out to anyone who wanted some- she even had plastic bags to go with the fruit.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rachael AndersonI’m glad you had an easier day today!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago