To Ovando, MT - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2024

To Ovando, MT

Jacinto took the dirt road to Ovando at Mile 21. That would be the best way to go. Both 141 and 200 were unpleasantly busy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have been looking forward to our ride to Ovando. I read that it's the friendliest little town on the Great Divide Trail. The two days from Wisdom-Anaconda-Ovando were anticipated trip highlights for me. So far all of  the roads have been a cyclist's dream. Someone needs to pinch me!

Wind was not forecast to be a factor today. We had one big climb. It seems to be a matter of fact sort of day.  I woke up at 6 AM when a train went by. Jacinto said he got up when another one passed at 4 AM. I slept through that one. There were quite a few in the evening. I don't know if the frequency decreases through the night. 

I was out the door at 8:30 AM. Two miles from town, I took a left onto 271. This is my current favorite road of the trip. That's a honor, as the roads have been a delight.  I knew there was a six mile climb, once I took the turn. I was happy it was gentle for several miles. Then I could see I was entering a twisty canyon, marked by a number of yellow arrows. This might be that 10% section Jacinto was showing me?  I'm not sure what the grade was. I was too busy trying to balance the bike at low speeds! I ended up stopping once, and walking a short distance. Then I decided  I was tougher than that, and got back on the bike. 

What is the female equivalent of studly? The climb was just steep enough to be difficult but not so horrible that I felt defeated. Instead I felt studly! I was also pleased when I arrived at the top. I am capable of climbing, but I certainly don't enjoy it the way Jacinto does.

The very little bit of traffic on 271 seemed to be farm trucks pulling empty trailers. I wonder if they were going to/from a sale? There was little enough traffic I thought I might have trouble getting help if I needed it. See - I like SOME car traffic!

Mile 22 was the turn onto 141. That was a shocker. Here's the real world. There was a significant amount of fast moving traffic and no shoulder. Five miles on this road. I can do it. I did it.

Who would think I'd be happy to ride busy 200? We've ridden 200 several times before, into/out of Missoula. At least it has a shoulder. At least there wasn't a rumble strip. I had a big, black pick up honk at me 'toot, toot' after he passed (respectful distance). I am giving him the benefit of the credit, that he was being friendly, but he had a modified horn that sound deep and angry. Later I had a motorcycle pull up too close next to me and rev his engine. That didn't feel friendly at all. I've never ever had a negative experience with a motorcycle. Perhaps he was challenging me to race. I don't know. But it didn't feel good. I heaved a mental sign. We are going to be on busy roads for awhile. This past week has been so delightful. 

But - I still had the overnight in Ovando to look forward to. I took a left into town. Here was Trixie's Saloon. I knew that's where we get dinner. Besides that, where is town? I see nothing. I consulted RWPGS. Yes, this is the correct turn. It ended up being much further than the half mile I thought it was to town. I'm going to whine about walking back for dinner. I arrived to town before the Stay Bullet's 2 PM closing. What the heck - I'm going to have lunch! Except, after looking over the menu, I ordered an omelet. It was excellent. I was going to get a couple of burritos to go. Then I gave myself a mental slap on the forehead. We have a short day tomorrow - we can have a restaurant breakfast. Look at us live large!

By the time I finished, I was pushing their 2 PM closing hour. I had been using their wi-fi, so I sat outside using it for awhile. Then I walked across the dirt street to the Ovando Inn.  Craig showed me my room, and said I could put my bike on the covered porch. I didn't want to block a doorway at the end. Craig said that was no problem, the room wasn't being used tonight. I asked if we could have that room, it would be easier to bring our bags in. Yes, except it wasn't clean yet. I sat on the bench outside and waited. Jacinto rode up while I was out there. He had seen the traffic on 141 and taken the dirt road at Helmville. It was approximately 12 miles of good dirt and four miles of pavement. Distance and climbing worked out to be very similar. 

Craig let me know to take all bags and food off of my bike. A woman was killed here by a grizzly just two years ago. He was also concerned that I didn't travel with bear spray. I've never considered it an issue, as we don't travel back country. Craig wasn't so sure.

Room six was ready. It was even larger. Plenty large for two bikes. Then we didn't have to worry about odors, and I didn't have to take the little bags off of my bike. Craig said he would have to ask John, the owner. John first said no bikes inside, then he asked if that was my bike outside of the window. He allowed that it was so clean it looked brand new, and yes we could bring those bikes in. Being polite (and having a clean bike!) pays off.

Jacinto’s upping his game - it’s not just a middle of the road photo - it’s a dirt road!
Heart 7 Comment 2
Keith AdamsAnd the front wheel is definitely off the ground... :)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Keith AdamsHa, yes it is! Jim and Rich tried to lift his bike. Jim did lift it and guessed 80 pounds. Rich gave it an effort, but said he didn’t want to hurt his back!

Just imagine if this were a camping trip. Jacinto would have to leave the coffee pot home. Horrors!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Look at that water!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Jacinto’s vista on the dirt road.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto arrives in Ovando via the dirt road. That was by far the better choice.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Room #6 at the Ovando In.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWow! What a large room.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Keith AdamsBeautiful!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
The common area. I’m sitting in the recliner writing this. It might be a verbose entry- I’m so comfortable!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Eclectic art in the inn.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Seen exiting Drummond.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Someone has a sense of humor - used cows!
Heart 5 Comment 0
The employees at this logging company have world class views.
Heart 4 Comment 0
All of those arrows on the curves were my clue as to what’s coming.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Keith AdamsI guess you could say you were truly on the up-and-up.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I was so addle brained at the top of the climb that I imagined gangsters abandoning their car in front of their hideaway. Let’s no quibble over the detail of the car being the wrong vintage.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Why did they cut down all of the trees and pile them up? It’s not like the area had so many trees to start.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Old buildings were plentiful today.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The only commercial establishment between Drummond and Ovando.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is sitting in a pool of water. I think the silver cone is to keep squirrels away. But, wouldn’t the water do that?
Heart 1 Comment 3
Bill Shaneyfelt...Until the pool dries up.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltThat’s exactly what my
Son said!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Kelly IniguezSmart kid! :-)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
These three buildings are the majority of the businesses in tiny Ovando. The town has a vibrant outdoor feel to it.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 283 miles (455 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Jeff Lee"I've never ever had a negative experience with a motorcycle."

Me too. I consider them "cousins" of a sort, unified in our shared hatred of aggressive/distracted/stupid car and truck drivers.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithI don't know what the female equivalent of studly is, but you are one powerful woman! (With a pretty cool bike, too)
Jeanna
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
George HallIt seems strange that highway 141 would have a lot of traffic - any idea why? Regarding motorcyclists, I've had mostly good interactions with them, but recently there seems to be this trend of motorcyclists "pedaling" their feet after passing a cyclist as a means of mocking us.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo George HallHaving finished the next day's ride to Seeley Lake - I am speculating that it was Sunday afternoon traffic heading back to Missoula. Monday morning traffic was lighter, thankfully.

My memory of the Seeley Lake-Swan Lake leg is 'got to get it done' - which is a shame because it really is pretty, but everyone else thinks it's pretty and they are in cars! Today ended up being better than expected. I'd love to report the same again tomorrow. Let's see how it goes. Certainly the trip up to this point has been grand.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rachael AndersonI think you deserve the title of ‘Wonder Women’! I’m glad you made it there safely.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rich FrasierStudly is studly regardless of gender. And you are studly, no doubt about it!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago