To Orofino, ID - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

July 7, 2024

To Orofino, ID

Heart 0 Comment 0

I planned to leave by 7 AM. When I cracked the bedroom door to tell Jacinto I was leaving, he didn't wiggle. I snuck on out. I debated the wisdom of leaving him asleep. When would he wake up?

The air was nippy, but welcome. Later that nip in the air would be a fond memory. The entire day had a downward tilt. I had one small climb. At mile 12, there was a giant downhill, with a runaway truck ramp. Today is Sunday. I was early. There was no traffic at all. It was a "pinch me, I must be dreaming" sort of start to the morning. Exiting Deary was the end of the forest. Now we were out in farmland. Hay seemed to be the main crop. I did see a couple of fields of potatoes. The view went on for miles. The patchwork of fields was attractive.

Between Kendrick and Juliaette, there was a surprise bike path. If there was ever a place I did not need a path, this was it. But it was there, so I took it. I entertained myself thinking of places I'd rather have a bike path. I passed a man walking. I rang my bell for a fair distance, with no acknowledgement from him. I said good morning a couple of times. Of course, he didn't hear me until I was adjacent to him, and then he jumped so far sideways, I thought he was going to drop his phone. I subsequently passed a woman, but she heard me in advance.

At mile 29, exactly the half point of the day, things changed. I turned left on Highway 12. My dear friend, Highway 3, is now off route for us. I suspected 12 would have more traffic, and I was correct. The road surface now varied. Often the shoulder was not paved over with the driving lane, which made riding on the shoulder difficult. It seemed most of the highway 12 section had a passing lane, which made it easier for vehicles to pass me. I did have a fair number of large vehicles pulling toys pass me. I had a couple of positive honks, and a couple of negative ones. 

There was a slight headwind on 12, but enough curves in the road to keep them to a minimum.  I was still early enough in the morning to have a fair amount of shade from the trees. Today was an easy day, elevation wise. I kept moving, which created air, and I was in the shade about half of the time. That doesn't mean I wasn't ready to get to town. It has been quite a few days since I've ridden 59 miles!

I called the motel last night and asked about an early check in. 1 PM was my target time. I was on the outskirts of town at 11:30. That is not 1 PM. Then, what should appear but a Subway! Sold. I pulled in. There was a long line inside. I had plenty of time. I could wait, and wait I did. I wasted time, and finally went back outside to ride the last three miles. The air  felt hot, after sitting inside in the AC.

Jacinto took the shorter, climbing route today. He didn't leave our nice airbnb until 11 AM. I had 48 miles in and he was just starting his day! We had the same start to the day, then after the big downhill, he turned left, and went back up. Jacinto was really happy about the climb. He said I missed out. The climb was so steep the first two miles that Jacinto had to stop and pant like a dog every half mile. Oh, yes, that sounds like something I'd like to do. Jacinto said after the first couple of miles, it slacked off to 7%, which felt easy in comparison. Then he had about 15 miles of undulating rollers, before another screaming downhill. Jacinto said the second downhill wasn't fun, because it had so many curves. He kept his speed down under 20 mph, and stopped several times to check his brakes. Jacinto was extra satisfied with his day. 

We talked about tomorrow. We have a yurt in Harpster. I've called to check - no AC, and it's going to be 100 degrees! They do have a lounge with a TV that we can hang out in, and a couple of fans to use. I checked going to Grangeville, but that adds 13 miles and 2,000 feet of climbing. It would give us a 58 mile day with 4,000 feet of climbing. That's out of my fun zone - or possibly even out of my capability, especially in the heat. We are sticking with the yurt. It might be a long, hot night.

The Airbnb has two types of coffee makers. Jacinto can’t decide which to use first!
Heart 3 Comment 1
Typical view for the day.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The are mining away this mountain right at the edge of Kendrick.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bike path between Kendrick and Juliaette was a nice surprise.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Our room at the White Pine is spacious and has the best WiFi we’ve seen in days.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo on his detour.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jacinto’s view before town. He had already started descending.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto’s view for the day.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesTack this one on a wall.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Kathleen JonesI passed the compliment on. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
The reward for the climb is the view!
Heart 3 Comment 0
The big downhill
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto’s map. He says I really missed a good climb. It was so hard he had to stop every half mile and pant like a dog. Geez, I do feel like I missed out!
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonIt must have been really terrible if he had to stop every half mile! How awful! Great Britain has some very steep climbs but we’ve tried to avoid the places that are the worst. We also get off and walk when they are too steep.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 1,256 miles (2,021 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltOrofino, ID! My college best buddy (and best man at my wedding) lives up on the hill toward the lake!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltIt's a warm one here today. I wonder if he went to the lake.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago