To Nelson, BC - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2024

To Nelson, BC

I subtracted the six mile ferry ride from my riding mileage.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Remember the cinnamon roll I was so sad about yesterday? Today I went and stood in the line, I bought TWO. They were a bust. I ate 3-4 bites of one. Jacinto finished it.  I think Jacinto carried the other. They were the caramel topping style, but not so much topping. I was disappointed. They did have a large variety of baked goods. Only one customer, or family group, allowed inside at a time. It is a small building. 

I'm so relaxed about riding now, I don't even know what time I left! 10 AM? I did think as I cruised along that some day we are going to get in an area where it gets warm during the day, and I will want to beat the heat. Some day, right? We see on the news about dangerous heat waves and people suffering, and we are suffering in the cold and rain! Actually, I shouldn't be whining too loudly - we've had one day of rain/snow into Babb. Yesterday we delayed our ride, and were dry. Spoiler - today we were both in town about a half hour and there was a soaking downpour! If we'd been riding . . . . 

But, back to the beginning of the day. Jacinto tasked me with taking the glass bottle back to the store. He said if I would do that, he would carry all of the food we bought last night. I don't think the peanut butter got opened. That's a one pound dead weight right there.

Jacinto asked me which ferry I was planning to take. I told him I was concentrating on getting up the 550 foot/2 mile climb. Whatever time I get to the ferry, I get there. 

There were two steep climbs, separated by a flatter section. It wasn't too bad, except I did have to use all of my gears. I haven't used them all even once this trip. Jacinto said he had two gears left.  The downhill wasn't as steep or long as I expected. Of course, if I were coming up from the ferry, I probably wouldn't have that opinion!

I waited about ten minutes for the ferry, with a couple of motorcycle riders. They were semi local, out for an overnight get away. I kept my place in line and rode onto the ferry. I was chastised for doing that, being told by a worker that I wasn't allowed with the cars in case I fell and got run over. I'd say that chance is pretty small, but I understand rules are rules. He came by again after we got underway and explained that reasoning to me. The ferry ride was 35 minutes. When it was time to get off, a worker came and stood right next to me. I felt as if he were there to make sure I didn't go rogue and try to get off early. I understood the directions when they were given to me. I wasn't instructed in the beginning not to take a turn with the cars! That part didn't feel good. 

It seems the few times we've ridden a ferry, there's usually a steep climb away from the ferry. This time, it was a gentle curve to the main road and then slightly downhill. Hurray!

I subtracted the six mile ferry ride from my mileage total. The ferry must go at my bicycle speed - I would ride about six miles in 35 minutes.

Jacinto had called me right after the ferry got underway. He had pulled up to the dock, just as the ferry was pulling away. He said it was like something out of the movies. I told him to jump in the water and start swimming. He didn't see the humor!

This side of the lake had new pavement with a shoulder that varied from 24" and up. It also seemed to both of us to be flatter (although not flat), than the other side of the lake. Maybe there was more traffic, but I felt it was easier to ride with, having my own little  shoulder to ride on. This side had more views and more development/houses. 

Today was intentionally a short day. I didn't want the pressure of having to make a ferry at a certain time. That ended up not being an issue, as they are running two ferries at the same time, so the wait is never too long. I had tried to get a rental along the lake before Nelson, but they all wanted multi night stays with this holiday weekend. 

I was just a few miles from the ferry, stopped to take a photo, when a cyclist pulled up besides me! Who should it be but another Cycle Blazer, Eva Walters! She and Al had just gotten off of the Proctor ferry. They are locals to the area. We exchanged pleasantries. Al joined us and gave me some intel on the road down the way. Al said it was freshly paved last year. I told them to watch for Jacinto, as he's on the next ferry. I saw two other loaded cyclists going the other way. Eva and Al must see plenty of riders going past their house. 

The more miles I got down the road without any big climbs, the happier I was. Eva had asked where I was staying, and said our place was up the hill. Lucky us! Truth is, either way, we have to go up the hill. We were routed on a bikeway, which dumped us onto busy Baker Street. This was the happening place, with many restaurants and stores. It also has angle parking. One truck saw me just in time as it backed out. I was watching. Happily the driver was being careful. Stanley Street is the memorable one. It went UP! I rode one block, then stopped for a photo. Ahem. After that, I walked the remain 4-5 blocks until I took a right on a level street to our lodging. 

As always, I was happy to arrive. I had noted the darkening clouds. Eva assured me it wouldn't rain. They were having an unusual cool spell, typically it would be hot here right now. I got checked in, got change and soap for the laundry (wooeee! Machine washed clothes), and hadn't been in the room long when Jacinto showed up. He barely got in the room when it started to rain! It was hard enough rain that he got my umbrella out to go to the laundry. It was my turn to sit in bed with a towel and nothing else while all of my clothes were washed.

We've ordered take out Thai food. Jacinto was willing to walk back down the hill to eat, but was swayed to try delivery. There's no Uber or Lyft in Nelson. Quite a few of the restaurants do have delivery. There's a patio area with picnic tables here. We are going to eat outside. I hope delivery good smoothly, since I talked Jacinto into it. 

I would buy milk in a glass bottle if it were available at home. Jacinto can’t drink cow’s milk at home. His stomach gurgles and complains. Something about the milk in Canada is different, his stomach is just fine.
Heart 0 Comment 4
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe do not have GMO here?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Steve Miller/GrampiesUp to this point we had been buying regular milk in the carton. Now we’ve purchased glass bottles two nights in a row. Are the glass bottles commonly available?

We also purchased Chapmann’s premium ice cream and found that just as good as homemade. I’m picky about ice cream.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Eva WaltersKootenay Meadows organic milk is from a farm/dairy in Creston. They grow most of their own hay and other feed as well, and their cows are treated really well. We're so lucky to have their milk available here from the Kootenay Co-op and several of the supermarkets in Nelson. It's great to use returnable glass bottles instead of accumulating plastic cartons. Also Canada does not allow DES. Glad you are enjoying the milk!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauI'm a milk drinker and I try to find milk every day on a bike tour. Usually it's just a pint from a large regional dairy, in a plastic bottle. I'd love to try the stuff in that picture.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I took my glass milk bottle back for my toonie deposit ($2.). Jacinto later told me that he had decided if I carried it for today, he would carry it the rest of the way. Had I only known!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here is a tiny, efficient post office.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Here’s the broom company.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Is this warning for the uphill or the downhill? That’s an important question when you are pedal powered.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Unisex bathrooms. I had to study the sign for a minute.
Heart 2 Comment 1
This man had on a giant onesie. Maybe that’s more acceptable if the fabric is lumberjack plaid.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Here’s the other ferry, going to get Jacinto.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking out the porthole of the ladies room.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto was on the big, new ferry.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We saw a handful of riders today. These were two.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Get your hippie vibe going!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Eva Walters
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonThat’s great you got to meet them! We met them in 2018 and a I ran into a relative a couple of days ago.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Al joined us.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Scott AndersonYow! Hi, guys! One coincidence after another with you two. I wondered if you might hook up.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I am going to research this out. It looks like an old drive in movie marquee, but there isn’t much space for a drive in here.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Eva WaltersThe Starlight definitely used to be a drive in. We went there several times before it closed sometime in the 1980s. It's been a mini-storage place ever since. (They have no place to store the sign.)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jacinto found a job in Canada!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonCanada would be a great place to live! But farther away from Tucson!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Rachael AndersonToday is our third day back in the USA. I miss Canada’s trash free roads and smooth pavement. Perhaps all of the pavement isn’t that nice, but the roads we were on were exemplary.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
This is the only thing I recognize from our 2019 ride through here. I could see several ladders both inside and out. It looks like it’s being repaired.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I stopped on a steep climb to take this photo. Perhaps it was really an excuse. After that I walked the rest of the way up the hill. One man on a road bike passed me, riding. The e bike riders don’t count.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Eva WaltersHow very appropriate, Kelly. I work at the Nelson library!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I was walking slowly enough to notice this subtle detail.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Crossing the big bridge into Nelson.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our room for the night at Alpine Inn.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 913 miles (1,469 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Eva WaltersHi Kelly,

Such a treat to meet you this morning. And then we hailed Jacinto just as he passed the road up to our house. Here's the reply to the email that you sent us about the Salmo bike path/rail trail.

We haven't actually ridden the bike path to Salmo. As far as we know, most of it is not paved. It also crosses the highway in a number of places, so if you tried it out and didn't like it, you'd easily be able to get back onto the highway. (The highway has been repaved in the last few years and has a shoulder the whole way to Salmo.) To get onto the bike path from the Alpine motel, the easiest route would be to ride on the highway to Cottonwood Lake entrance (it would be on your right) and meet the bike path there. It would be steeper to ride uphill through upper Nelson to get to another trail access point.

Hope the rest of your tour goes well with no more rain! We look forward to following your journal.

Best wishes and happy cycling,
Eva and Al
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Eva WaltersI did some research on the path to Salmo. One place said to carry a handsaw to cut fallen trees across the path, and by the way, watch out for both grizzlies and black bear! Another site said that motorized vehicles are allowed on the Salmo end and the path is rough. That’s enough to convince me to stay on the main road. Jacinto does not have a hand saw, but I think he’s giving it a try anyway. As you said, it looks fairly easy to get off if conditions worsen.

I’ve spent many a happy hour at the library. E books are a great convenience, but there’s nothing like feeling and smelling the pages of a real book!

That’s an eye catching mural on the library. Great design that nods to the area as well as the building function.

Thank you for catching me. It was a memorable stop.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Wayne EstesMy memory of BC Ferries is that pedestrians and bicycles always load/unload BEFORE the cars and trucks.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonI rode this highway east of Nelson last summer, on an OB to Proctor. They were still working on the resurfacing project then. Some was brand new, not yet striped; some was stripped down to the rippled underlayer; some was unstarted. A very mixed experience, both directions. You’re lucky to be there this year instead.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago