To Jaffray, BC - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2024

To Jaffray, BC

Heart 0 Comment 0

The early bird gets the worm. Translated into touring lingo - the early cyclist beats the headwind. I am the early cyclist - I am much happier than the cyclist who didn't leave until 9 AM and had a headwind from the get go. That would be Jacinto.

I was out the door at 7:25. I made it to 25.5 miles when I came around a corner and the wind started blowing strongly. It was like someone turned a switch. I wonder if it was a geographical point, where the wind started. I was still happy. I had just over half of the miles in for the day, and the wind wasn't too strong. Sunday morning traffic had been light. The shoulder was wider and much cleaner than yesterday. Things were looking good!

I was mindlessly pedaling down the road, looking at nothing. When my eyes honed in on a blinking light ahead of me. Was that a cyclist's tail light? Yes, I believe so! I caught up and chatted with Gary, from South Carolina. Gary is 79. Last summer he and his wife rode the TransAm as far as Colorado, where they didn't like the routing, and started routing their own way. They did go coast to coast. 

We talked for a few minutes, agreed we would love to talk more, but agreed we had suffered with the wind yesterday, and we should get going. I told Gary I was stopping at the gas station for supplies, we might see each other again. 

It seemed to me that traffic got heavier as the day passed. Sunday afternoon back to real life traffic?

Overall, I was happy with my progress against the wind. It seemed as if the road were gently downhill the entire day. Add that to good scenery, and it's a great day!

I bought milk and eggs at the store to carry. I added a chicken wrap and a lemonade to eat in the parking lot. There wasn't a good place to sit, I made myself a perch on a jersey barrier. I was just getting started with my snack when Gary pulled up! He was hoping to get over the border to Eureka. It would be a direct headwind for the remaining 27 miles. Gary was trying to catch someone he had been riding with on the Great Divide. He has been on the road five days and ridden 250 miles. I'd say that's mighty fine mileage for a tough dirt route.

After my extended stop, I didn't have any legs. It's a good thing serious pedaling wasn't required. Perhaps a half mile from the gas station was a busy hamburger/ice cream spot. Jacinto said when he went by, there were several bike packer type bikes parked outside. 

I saw signs for bridge replacement construction. They were working on Sunday! The turn for my road was right in the middle of the construction, but I made it. I was two hours early for check in. I debated sitting on the side of the road, but decided to go on over to the house. I could at least sit on the lawn in the shade. I had chatted with Stephanie, but her husband and I were never introduced. He came outside and said they'd just arrived home from a wedding, and hadn't cleaned the cabin yet, I was early. I made my apologies, said I was trying to beat the wind, and could I sit by the fire pit. Yes, I certainly could. Although he looked confused about the wind, and said the wind doesn't really blow here. We beg to differ. There are large cottonwood trees down by the river. The wind is loudly rustling the leaves as we speak!

I waited outside an hour while they cleaned. Today was a good riding day. I beat the wind, it was scenic, and the road basically flat. It was a fine day to be on the bike!

I had all of my get to town chores done when Jacinto arrived. He had missed the turn in the middle of the construction, and doubled back on the other end of our road. I was enthusiastic about our charming little cabin. I said this would be perfect for Tucson - it has a full kitchen, a full living room, roomy bath, etc. What more could I want? There's a nice covered deck in the back. We have the sliding door open now, listening to the wind in the trees.

Tomorrow is another easy day, to Cranbrook. There is a dirt choice, that would get us off of Highway 3.  We've ridden into Cranbrook before from the north on a dirt road. It passed by Ta Ta Creek, which was a continuing source of amusement. I should consider it. Wind will be an issue again tomorrow. We are staying at the Days Inn again - it was fine before, I'm sure it will be fine now. There's no need to rush to get there. Let's see what we end up doing.

I aimed to get as far down the road as possible before the wind started blowing. Jacinto was unimpressed with my 7:20 start.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We’ve stayed a time or two in places like this. Any port in a storm.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Is this rape seed? There was one bright yellow field.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Today’s Mountain View’s.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Fields of white flowers.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It’s far too early in the morning for ice cream. But I liked their logo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The moss created an appealing texture for a photo.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Gary, age 79, is from South Carolina and is riding the Great Divide. He was off route, trying to get over the border to Eureka.
Heart 4 Comment 2
George HallHave you seen this journal --> https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/biking/ Is it the same gy?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo George HallGood eye! Or, memory - as I can tell I liked the photo of his bike previously. That is the bike. I didn’t even ask him if he was journaling. I did ask Tristan, who said it was all he could do to finish the day, much less journal.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
We happened to pull over at a mountain spring. Gary said the water was very cold.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The gas station outside of Jaffray had an entire wall of boots for sale. I guess it really was a one stop shopping.
Heart 0 Comment 0
That is a mailbox behind my bike, not a trash can.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is the nose on this deer regulation highway signage?
Heart 1 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesIt is for reindeer.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
We rented an Airbnb cabin in the middle of nowhere. It is perfect inside! I told Jacinto we should change our Cranbrook day off to here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The main living area.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Jeanna & Kerry SmithBeautiful cabin. It's such a nice surprise when a place turns out to be even better than you expected.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jacinto arrives. He missed the turn and got a bonus mile.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The blue sky is great, but Jacinto didn’t like the headwind.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 767 miles (1,234 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0