To Ione, WA - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2024

To Ione, WA

Heart 0 Comment 0

What a day today! We've spent the last couple of days monitoring the weather. Rain is in the forecast for one day. I told Jacinto we didn't  get wet in Canada even once. The day we had rain/snow was in Babb, MT. Then we did wait to leave for Crawford Bay until 1 PM. We were dry. The end result was not getting wet in Canada at all. That's a first for us! Today, getting wet looked like a guarantee. We aren't in Canada though. We weren't as concerned about it, because temperatures are warmer now. 

It appeared the earlier we rode, the more chance of staying dry. Also, the further south we got, the less chance of getting wet. I set the alarm for 7 AM. Jacinto was not pleased. Before 6 AM, rain woke me up. So much for the early cyclist staying dry! I didn't even to try go back to sleep. I was out the door by 8 AM. It was dry at the time. I had on the warm tights, a vest, etc. My raincoat was on the top, and I had my over mitts ready to go.

Every dry mile was a good mile. I had about 12 miles of fairly flat riding before a 2.2 mile climb to the border. There was no traffic at all this morning. I keep wondering where the holiday traffic has gone. Don't  people want to play in the mountains? Perhaps the wet weather has discouraged mountain playing. Around here I'd suppose rain is part of daily life.

The climb went well. I stopped to take my vest off, but maintained a regular pace. My computer usually said 4% grade. That is sustainable for a long distance.

It leveled off a couple of miles before the border crossing. There were 5-6 vehicles in front of me. Two pick up trucks took a while to clear. Cars took less time. I waited in line about 20 minutes. It was just enough time for the mosquitoes to find me.  I took maybe five minutes. This is the first time that I've had my panniers inspected, although I didn't have to take anything out, I did have to open them up. The agent seemed concerned I was by myself. I gave the standard answer that I'm slow, so my husband gives me a head start. Jacinto said when he got there the agent asked him all sorts of questions, but when he said his wife had already bicycled through earlier, Jacinto felt like that legitimized him, and there were no further questions. Jacinto did say he had two apples with him, expecting them to be confiscated, but they weren't. I was asked if I had more than $10,000. with me. Jacinto was not.

The route today is enjoyable. It has just enough climbing to feel accomplished, but not so much that I couldn't walk when I got to town. 

We've bicycled this road twice before. Once heading north. As I headed down the steep decline near Metaline Falls, I remembered our first trip through. Oren and I picked up groceries in Metaline, and had to carry them UP that steep climb. I'm impressed we did that ride. It seemed extra steep, as a downhill.

I recognized the motel we stayed at, out in the middle of nowhere. Traffic continued to be nonexistent. The road surface was good, but now there's roadside trash. Already. That's a shame. I wonder what Canada does that America can't manage?

I was watching the sky. It was looking better and better in front of me. Behind was was getting darker and darker. Jacinto usually comes out smelling like a rose. I'm not sure this time.

I was gleeful as I pulled up to Porter Plaza and I hadn't gotten wet. I'd felt 4-5 big fat rain drops as I rode into town. I was smug, walking inside to register. I was halfway through the process, when I looked out the window and it was POURING rain! I had parked my bike under the eaves of the building. Rain was funneled straight onto my seat and helmet! I ran outside and pulled the bike under the carport. My little handlebar bag was open and full of water. It's amazing how quickly that happened. Here I was, so happy to be in town, dry, and then my stuff is wet anyway. My vest bungee corded to the back seat was drenched.

I ended up hanging out inside the convenience store for about 20 minutes. I didn't want to go down the block to my room. I would really get wet then. A woman and her two daughters came in for a snack from the deli area. We shared a table. She said that Le Clerc Road is busier than the main highway, because most of the housing is on Le Clerc, so traffic goes that direction. That's an interesting perspective. We are planning to take Le Clerc anyway. I want to get a photo of the eye catching red bridge heading out of town. The small family was having bacon cheeseburgers with all of the toppings. She said their prices were excellent, half of anywhere else in town. I couldn't see prices posted on anything. I did ask the clerk what time they closed, because today is Sunday. She said 4 PM, but she had a couple of bacon cheeseburgers in the warmer, if I wanted them. I guess you have to be a local to get fresh made.

Finally it slacked off enough that I rode to the room. My seat pad was wet, as was my helmet and gloves. I had to laugh at myself. I'm dry, but my bike and belongings are soaked!

I was just getting things organized, when Jacinto pulled up outside. He was drenched! Water was dripping from everywhere and everything. Jacinto said he got caught in the big downpour on the steep descent. What terrible timing. He said the pouring part lasted about five miles, and then he had normal rain all the way to town.

There's a laundry in our building. We debated the need of washing our clothes. Maybe we could go straight to the dryer? the machine ate our money for soap. But a man doing his laundry let us have enough soap for our load. He said it only sprinkled at his house, south of town.

 I advised against it, but Jacinto tried drying his shoes. That didn't last long as they made too much noise. I don't suppose leather shoes do well in the dryer, so that was for the best. He has the liners out, on top of the room heater. 

I've wiped my bike down, and cleaned and lubed the chain. I should be good for the remainder of the trip. 

We are trying the Public House for dinner. I hope they have something besides hamburgers. Last night I was eavesdropping on a table when they were ordering. The woman asked instead of getting an order of fries, could she get a half order of salad, and a half order of fries. Yes, she could, only because they were slow. I got the same thing! I'm not sure I'd have enough guts to try that on a regular basis. Our restaurant bill was cheaper though, because we've been ordering a big salad to share, in addition to our main course. Remember at the beginning of the trip, I was horrified that Jacinto's burger was $20.? That is a normal price. It's amazing how much restaurant food has gone up in price. We've eaten in a few nights, at great savings.

Salmon’s a charming, artsy little town with a number of rock murals.
Heart 2 Comment 0
When we bicycled to dinner, Jacinto discovered he was missing a cleat bolt on one shoe. While checking his other shoe, the bolts were so loose that the cleat had moved. Jacinto had noticed one leg always felt sore, but thought it was a personal problem. I had spare cleat bolts. He’s good to go today. It’s fortunate we rode to dinner, or he would have had a long ride to town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Goodbye, Highway 3. It’s been a pleasure.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I can see all of those arrows on the uphill. Slow perfectly describes my pace.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I didn’t see many barns in Canada. This was the last one.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’ve seen a handful of motorcycle retreats. Are they a Canadian thing?
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m concentrating on that little blue patch of sky, hoping it gets bigger!
Heart 2 Comment 1
The Pend Oreille River.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauIt's a beautiful river, but this is one of the nicest shots I've seen.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Gregory GarceauThank you! Extra, because that’s my photo and not Jacinto’s.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
In Metaline.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I have no idea what this little building is, besides cute!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Box Canyon Dam.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There’s even more blue sky!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Jacinto is back that way. It does not look friendly!
Heart 2 Comment 0
There were three of these cars. I wonder what they are called? They had Terra Trike seats on them. I could see that from above.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Scott AndersonIt’s called rail biking. These are cropping up around the country on unused rail lines. There’s even one in Colorado: https://www.revrail.com/colorado-railbiking
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonYou know, I think I've seen signs for those rail bikes by South Fork. There were three cars worth of these riders. They were laughing and giggling - but I think they got soaked in the same rain Jacinto did. More stories to tell when they get home.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Our room at Porter Plaza.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jacinto took three photos today. #1
Heart 4 Comment 0
#2
Heart 2 Comment 0
#3
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 978 miles (1,574 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 5
marilyn swettYou may already know this, but I've discovered a great method to dry wet bike shoes. Wad up pieces of newspaper and put them into the shoes - stuffing them all the way into the toe box. The paper absorbs the moisture. As the paper gets wet, replace it with dry paper.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo marilyn swettI have heard of that. Happily, I’ve never needed to try it myself. I’ve worn sandals for years. One advantage being riding in the rain.

Jacinto ended up balancing his shoes upside down on top of the window unit heater/cooler. Let’s see how they are later. These were brand new shoes for the trip. They sure don’t look it anymore!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gregory GarceauI remember grinding up that hill away from Metalline Falls. It was soon afterward that I met you & Jen & Jim in person, and Jacinto a while later. And, based on your recommendation, I got a room at the SalCrest Motel that night. The weather was excellent that day--unlike what you got yesterday.

I've gotten that "do you have more than $10,000 in cash" question at border crossings. It's hilarious. Maybe you hesitated too long after the question, and that's why they searched your panniers. LOL
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Gregory GarceauWe were just looking over that journal entry last night. I pointed out your photo to Jacinto. I don’t remember if I asked permission to take your photo or not (nod to recent forum discussion there). That was five years ago!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Kelly IniguezThe newspaper method definitely works, especially if you pull the insole out first. I would never put my $$$ leather cycling shoes on a heat source. They are the most expensive footwear I’ve ever bought that weren’t ski boots.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago