To Hungry Horse, MT - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2024

To Hungry Horse, MT

Heart 0 Comment 2
Keith AdamsThat profile makes me weary just looking at it.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Keith AdamsIt makes us look tough, doesn’t it? It was mostly little ups and downs. Jacinto’s favorite. No giant cli my s.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Breakfast was served this morning at 8 AM. Jacinto hardly had one eye cracked. I brought him coffee to the room. That got him into the dining area. I ate breakfast while Jacinto tried to wake up. Kathleen gave him a shot of expresso to supplement the coffee. That did open his eyes a little further, but he still wasn't hungry. It appeared to us that Kathleen was customizing breakfast for each table, although no choices were offered. We had a bowl of fruit and yogurt, with a good variety of fruit. An excellent crunchy roll with jam. The main was an omelet with bacon, cheese, and spinach. I was ready to get down the road. By the time we ate breakfast, I was down the road at 9:15. At breakfast, I overheard a couple saying that they were renting e assist bicycles to ride the Going to the Sun Road, they would be back later in the day. I'd love to be there to get the end of the day report, but we will have to find out for ourselves!

Today we were riding through the Flathead Valley. There are choices of backroads. We've been here through a couple of times before, traversing the valley. This time we were going to sneak up the east side, avoiding all of the populated areas.

Last night I called Dwayne at the Beargrass RV Park and asked about food availability. It appeared to us that ALL of the 4-5 restaurants in town were closed on Wednesday. What are the chances of that? Dwayne said that the hamburger place adjacent to the RV park is open, but they don't recommend it.  On line reviews agree. It seems cooking a burger is pretty basic? Instead, Dwayne pointed out that we have a full kitchen in our duplex, we should go to the store and do our own cooking. Jacinto was for eating burgers, how bad could they be? I like a good burger, but these weren't even supposed to be good! I said I would ride to the store and buy groceries. Jacinto reluctantly agreed.

I rode for 11 miles on 83, before turning left onto 209. I recognized this from our 2020 ride. As I took the turn north across the Swan River, I remembered riding the Swan River Trail going into Bigfork that Jim Fitch sent us on in 2020. I did not want to go to Big Fork today. I was anticipating a climb away from the river. Someone pointed out to me years ago that you ride down to the river, and up away from it. I can't tell you how many times I've looked at a map, and ran that thought through my mind whenever I see a river on my route.  I was happy to turn onto a rural road. Most of the rest of the day was on rural roads. This appeared to be a very well to do areas, with large, well kept houses, with many outbuildings. 

The terrain for today was small rollers. Jacinto was happy, and I was stoic. Even small climbs are good training for the Going to the Sun Road in two days! Scenery continues to be very green. I looked at all of the ferns in the woods, thinking that ferns only grow where there is plenty of moisture. Our sky is blue today - I'm going with that!

Bertha (my name for RWGPS) was on the job today. As simple as the day was yesterday, today had plenty of turns. I was supposed to turn onto Jensen Road off of 206. It was dirt. I remembered the next road, Kelley Road, was paved. I took that. Surprise, surprise - it dead ended into a dirt road. Oh, well. I guess I'm on the dirt road. It is hard packed and has very little gravel. When I arrived at Berne Road, it looked very rough. I went left, on pavement. Jacinto stayed straight, and said the surface really deteriorated. He went through a couple of puddles, one so large he had to carry his bike around the edges. His bike is heavy!

I was extra happy with the route today. We stayed off of high traffic roads the entire day until we got to a narrow canyon spot on Highway 2, going into Hungry Horse. I had a dump truck wait politely behind me for a good chance to pass. The cars stacked behind him also passed safely. There was zero shoulder, and it was curvy. I couldn't get through that section fast enough. Our RV Park was right over the river on the edge of town. I stopped in first to register and unload my panniers. I eavesdropped on Shane's conversation with the couple in front of me. He was sending them to Whitefish to eat dinner. Nope - that's not happening for us. I got registered, and in the room. Every day is a surprise when staying in motels. Today was such a good surprise that I called Jacinto and told him we should rearrange our schedule so we can stay here on our day off. This is spacious, tidy, new, two bedrooms - three TV's - what more could you ask for?

I left for the grocery before I got too settled in. Of course I was still hungry, so I bought way too much food. Tomorrow is only 22 miles to Lake McDonald. We are there for three days. It's inside of the park. I'm sure food will be outrageously expensive. It's too bad we couldn't fold up this kitchen and take it with us. Or, the reasonably priced grocery store. I've told Jacinto is 22 flat miles to town. Maybe we could buy some food to take with us? 

 Now we are carefully looking ahead at food. Jacinto checked our motel, google shows it as closed tomorrow! I had to call a couple of times to get through. Open - they have our reservation. It's a 4 PM check in. We are supposed to call back around noon to ask about an early check in. We plan to leave here when they kick us out, at 11.  That is still plenty of time to ride 22 miles.

Genny just texted and said they are on their last train. They will see us tomorrow evening!

The blossoms at the Laughing Horse B&B are just getting started.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Let’s not forget we are in bear country.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I am out the door. Jacinto? Not so much.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I rode a short section of bike path near Big Fork. It was in a very rural area where it didn’t seem necessary.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Highway 206 was deserted, for a highway.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Whomever placed this tiny box of free tomato plants was quite optimistic. No one will happen by accidentally.
Heart 1 Comment 0
All sorts of things are for sale on back roads.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I don’t know what else they sell besides eggs.
Heart 3 Comment 0
My postcard photo for the day.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This was a stand alone garage. I think with living quarters on top. It looks like the perfect set up to me.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This little lake was on one of the backroads. Look at that water!
Heart 5 Comment 0
He also did a hike a bike around this washed out dirt road. I thought it looked rough, and took a left instead.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The middle fork Flathead River as we entered Hungry Horse.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto arrived walking.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We had an excellent duplex at the Beargrass RV Park. I wish we could fold this one up and take it with us.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m cooking tonight. I did the shopping while I was hungry. We will have to eat all evening!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Huckleberry ice cream for dessert.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 417 miles (671 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonLooks like a great meal!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago