To Gibbonsville, ID - We'll see you when the snow melts. - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2024

To Gibbonsville, ID

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was a ride smarter not harder day. We are staying at a cabin in the middle of nowhere. It’s a ten mile climb/1,000 foot elevation gain up Chief Joseph Pass. That means we get to sleep in this morning, and wander down to the provided breakfast. Jacinto is not excited. He said we’ve eaten too many plastic eggs. If he just can’t stand the breakfast, he will go back and eat some of the collection of leftovers. 

There was the typical hot selection of scrambled eggs and sausage. Jacinto was happy to see the rectangular squares of hash browns. He made a sandwich to go with hash brown and sausage. I don’t know if I’ve listen to Jacinto complain too many times about motel breakfasts, or if I’m also getting jaded. Even though I knew we wouldn’t have food tonight or in the morning, I didn’t bother with going for seconds.

We are at the Broken Arrow Cabins tonight.  They  also have a restaurant. Unfortunately for us, they are closed Monday and Tuesday. We had an assortment of leftovers to take. Our last food opportunity is the market at North Fork, at mile 20.

We settled back in the room after breakfast as if it were evening. The cleaning lady came by, but I told her we were staying until 11 AM. Finally I told Jacinto if I waited around any longer, I’d have to eat lunch!

When I woke up this morning, there was a completely blue sky. By the time I left, it was cloudy again, and only 55 degrees. I wore my heavy tights, a vest, and a buff. 

We were on Highway 93 again, gradually downhill along the river, until North Fork. Then the river turns, but we don’t. Our ten mile climb starts there.

I left at 10 AM. There was considerably more traffic on 93 this morning, including semi truck traffic. I mostly had a 12 inch shoulder, which I used as much as possible. Drivers were polite to a one. Scenery continued to remind me of the area around Gunnison and Saguache, with bare buttes, and the occasional patch of pine trees. I even saw a few aspen. 

It took some time, but I eventually warmed up enough to take off my vest. Our rousting tailwind from yesterday seemed to be a light headwind today. Jacinto mentioned this morning that we should have taken advantage of the wind and kept going. That would have made a 90 mile day! Even with a tailwind, that would have been past my definition of fun.

The Broken Arrow is as far as we could go up the pass and still get lodging. That gave us 32 miles today. It was nice to have an easy day. I play mental math games, noting when I have 10%, 20%, etc of my riding miles done. Today the percentages passed quickly.

I had told Jacinto to stop for a soda pop and a milk at North Fork. He pointed out that I could also stop, because I would be there first. So true. I did stop. I thought he might catch up to me if I sat at a table in front. I bought an assortment of beverages, Fig Newtons, and a breakfast burrito. Probably the burrito was completely unnecessary, but I have food insecurity on food carry days. My fall back food to buy is a can of chili. Included in the selection at North Fork was a can of Wendy’s chili. That is something I buy if I go to a Wendy’s restaurant - but I’ve never seen it in the can before. I did recognize their logo.

I sat outside and drank my touring indulgence drink of Calpyso Lemonade. I paired that with Fig Newtons. That wasn’t a good combination. My usual middle of the day combo of a V-8 with a Salted Nut Roll is far better. 

I sat outside for probably 45 minutes. There were a number of forest service vehicles stopping in. Two Mennonite men, dressed as expected, and driving a pick up. One very tall man who had to stoop to enter the building. How tall do you suppose he is? 

Jacinto didn’t show up. I decided to get going. I was expecting to be much slower. I took my Buff off, in anticipation of sweating. The road only had a slight grade up. I appreciated that, but would rather do more climbing now, for less work tomorrow.

Jacinto caught up to me with four miles to go. We chatted for a minute. I told him to go ahead and get in the cabin, and take a shower. 

I told you the wet cabin story. What occurred to us this morning, is that we did not ask if the cabins have heat! We would like a wet  cabin with heat. I also did not ask if they have kitchens. It would be a surprise. No kitchen. We did have a microwave that Jacinto had to reposition to a different location and then sideways so it would plug in. 

I wasn’t in a hurry to arrive. I took a few more photos and fell behind. When I arrived, there was Jacinto in the driveway. ??? He said the doors were locked, there was no note and no key. I told him let’s go around back and try the cabin doors. Perhaps one is open. We kept trying doors and peeking inside. They were all open. All looked as if they were being used for storage. This wasn’t good!  Our choices from here were to ride 40 miles over the pass to Wisdom. Technically that was a choice, as it doesn’t get dark until almost 10 PM. In reality, the next option would be to back track to the last lodging spot. It was an RV Park with cabins. That would be 7-8 miles, or 16 miles round trip. No, I didn’t see that as a viable option. We did finally open a cabin door that the bed was made. There was also a note for the bicycle riders. It was a confusing note. It said the electricity wasn’t turned on (except it did work), and the water didn’t work either. Except it also worked. There was no shower in the cabin, but we tried the bathhouse doors. They were unlocked. There was a sign that showers were $5. The bath house was in a sorry state. The porcelain fixtures were clean and newer. The walls and shower area were in very poor condition. Mold everywhere, rust stains on the walls of the shower. Missing handles, odd shower heads. I debated the wisdom of showering, but I did.

The wi-fi is locked. We have no service at all. We haven’t paid for our cabin.I don’t think they have my name at all, except I originally contacted them through Facebook. I was thinking if they don’t show up by the time we leave in the morning, I don’t even have a pen and paper to leave them a note! I will be back to Facebook messaging.  I keep thinking someone will come by to get money, and we can ask for the wi-fi code.  

Jacinto and I sat outside and ate cold food. Then we showered. He got the portable heater working, and we got under the blankets and watched a movie he had downloaded on his iPad. I am writing this on my computer to save for later.

We’ve warmed some food up in the microwave for dinner. It’s been a quiet afternoon. I’m sure it will be an early night. I asked Jacinto how early we will be leaving in the morning. It’s already cold here. The low for tonight is supposed to be 42 degrees. I bet the sun doesn’t hit here right away. We are in a canyon. This is a cute little spot. The cabins are nicely decorated. There are flowers and yard art all over outside. Someone has put a lot of time and effort into the aesthetics. That person must not be into bathrooms. 

So - here we are - all wrapped up in blankets. Trying to convince ourselves that we are warm. The bikes are going to stay outside. I haven’t seen any animals, but I told Jacinto we should bring all of the food in, even the snacks. 

Later - about 8:30 I was sitting outside reading a book on Kindle and a man with a long hill billy looking beard came driving past in a serious military looking vehicle with full trash cans on back. That's a heck of a trash truck. I ran over and asked him the wi-fi password, about paying, and also about the water situation in the cabin. I showed him the sign that was out front, saying not to use the water. He said that was just an instruction note from his mom, and all was good now. The man also offered us food - if only that offer had come earlier!

We are all good now - sitting here on the bench in front of the cafe. The wi-fi doesn't work at the cabins. Traffic seems to drive past WAY too fast, although when we are riding the speed doesn't seem alarming. 

The man said that sunshine doesn't hit until about 8:30 AM, and wind isn't really a factor here because of the mountains. Jacinto swears he isn't leaving until late, when it gets warm. I think he's going to be bored earlier! We have established that there is a regular motel and regular restaurant in Wisdom tomorrow. Jacinto had to reluctantly agree that this was a cute little cabin, and a nicely cared for yard. He still quizzed me if we have any other alternative type lodging this trip. We are staying over the bar in Seeley Lake and we have a yurt in Harpster. More excitement is to be had!

Our 1,000 foot climb here seemed gentle. If only the rest of the climb is a fraction as easy. Jacinto said yesterday was so downhill that he couldn't stand up to pedal, he had to sit down. Today he wasn't able to stand up until we made the turn at North Fork. He is looking forward to standing up all day tomorrow. He says his bike feels plenty heavy, and it took a little practice to remember how to pedal standing up with full panniers. 

I’m a little warmer for my departure this morning. There is at least some blue sky.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jacinto’s departure photo.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We see these scenic byway signs occasionally.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is the best Sasquatch cutout I’ve seen! Jacinto didn’t even notice it.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This was my vest removal spot. I like rural mail boxes. They speak of a different time.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The North Fork store was out last chance for food at mile 20.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I had a strawberry lemonade and fig newtons for a snack. It was not a good combination. Not recommended.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This caught my eye and made me smile.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto caught me four miles from the cabins.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Our cabin at Broken Arrow restaurant and cabins. Sadly, the restaurant is closed today.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The sign says white ass - look in the distance. What do you see? I’m sure there’s a back story.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside photo.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Someone put much effort into the yard here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our laundry is drying.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Janice BranhamThat is a cute cabin. It's many steps up from camping.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 91 miles (146 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Wayne EstesThat place reminds me of all the failed promises at Belden Resort. Not quite up and running yet.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kelly IniguezTo Wayne EstesWe were quite a bit happier later when the man sold
Jacinto two Pacifico beers for $2. Total and gave me a piece of huckleberry peach pie a la mode. Jacinto drank one beer and is carrying the other for tonight. He says he’s sure beer costs more than that from the store!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Wayne EstesTo Kelly IniguezFree pie ala mode and almost free beer makes up for the restaurant being closed.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
George HallYour experience illustrates why it's good to always have some "emergency" food with you on a bicycle tour. I love the part of Idaho you are traveling through right now. You always manage to find some interesting lodging.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Amber StarfireThe place really does look cute from the outside. Too bad it’s so poorly managed. On the other hand, that’s part what makes touring such a memorable adventure. 💪🏻
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Kelly IniguezThat’s great you got some pie alamode! That’s much better than beer!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago